SciFinder Scholar Information Page
SciFinder Scholar 2007 is now available for Windows (including Windows Vista) and Mac OSX.
New features include:
- Categorize references enables you to sort and evaluate information in your answer sets by creating a histogram for easy analysis. Categorize separates related references on the basis of their associated CA index terms.
- Save answers save answer lists of references, substances, or reactions and re-use them later in other SciFinder Scholar sessions.
- Combine answer sets focus on a particular research topic in new ways by combining the substances, reactions, and references in an active answer set with those in a previously saved one. By employing various options of Combine, Intersect, or Remove, you can manipulate and customize the information contained in these combined answer sets.
- Export commercial chemicals records from CHEMCATS® into Excel
- Explore from substance displays use a substance record display to launch a new search or refine a previous one.
- Print structures in grid format compare multiple chemical structures by printing them side by side in the grid.
About SciFinder Scholar | UNH Access | Download Software | Help & Contacts | Top
About SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is a product of the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) of the American Chemical Society. It provides comprehensive indexing of contemporary chemistry literature and substance information. Over 22 million citations to chemical literature from 1907 to the present; reaction information from 1974 to the present; and substance information, including structure, properties, chemical names and formulas, CAS Registry Numbers, reaction information, and chemical suppliers, are included. Links to cited and citing references within the Chemical Abstracts CAplus database are provided.
SciFinder Scholar provides 24-hour access to information from the following databases:
- Chemical Abstracts Plus (CAplus): chemical literature and patents, 1907 to present
- CASREACT: organic/organometallic chemical reaction searching (7 million reactions)
- CAS Registry, 1957 to present
- ChemCats: chemical supplier information
- CHEMLIST: government regulatory information
- ChemPort: direct links to journal articles (if available via UNH Library)
- Medline: citations and abstracts from the National Library of Medicine's database
About SciFinder Scholar | UNH Access | Download Software | Help & Contacts | Top
Access
To use SciFinder Scholar at any UNH branch library or Dimond Library reference computer workstation, look for the SciFinder icon or menu choice. It is available on CIS cluster and classroom computers; see the Course-Related menu. You can also install it on other campus computers; please see download instructions, below.
From off campus, you must use Virtual Private Networking (VPN) to connect. More information on VPN is available from UNH Computing & Information Services at their VPN web site.
Access Limit: The Scifinder Scholar database can only be accessed by three (3) simultaneous users. If a fourth person tries to connect, he or she will be notified that too many people are on the system. Please try again later. Use is restricted to use by current University of New Hampshire faculty, staff, and students for academic purposes.
About SciFinder Scholar | UNH Access | Download Software | Help & Contacts | Top
Download Software
To use
SciFinder Scholar on other
on-campus computers, please see the
system requirements.
SciFinder Scholar requires installation of client software, as well as Internet access.
To install or upgrade
SciFinder Scholar you must download both the client and the configuration file:
- Download client software :
- SciFinder Scholar 2007 client for Windows: download
- SciFinder Scholar 2007 client for Macintosh: download
- Download site.prf file:
- After installing SciFinder Scholar 2007, save the site.prf file:
- Windows: save the site.prf file in your SciFinder folder (ie. c:\sfschlr) in order to connect successfully. Even if you have an old site.prf file, you will need the new site.prf for the 2007 version to work.
- Macintosh: save the site.prf file in your Applications Support folder (ie. /user/Library/Application Support/SciFinder Scholar/) in order to connect successfully. Even if you have an old site.prf file, you will need the new site.prf for the 2007 version to work.
Note: If you have selected journals for the "Browse Table of Contents" feature, you may need to uninstall your previous version of SciFinder prior to installing the new version.
About SciFinder Scholar | UNH Access | Download Software | Help & Contacts | Top
Help and Contacts
Bookmark the
help file or you may access it within your
SciFinder session. Additional
SciFinder Scholar resources, including a tutorial, are also available on the
CAS web site.
Need more info?
For assistance with software installation or server access: call Library Systems at 2-0170.
For search assistance, please contact Bob Constantine (2-1083 or rjc3@cisunix.unh.edu) or Emily Poworoznek (2-4168 or emily.poworoznek@unh.edu).