Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Science (Physical)

Total number: 54

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.

Access Science
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes regular encyclopedia articles, a science dictionary, and an "In the News" section, as well as several features that cater to undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. AccessScience is based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

ACS Legacy Archives
The ACS Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995. The Archives enables researchers to reach through history to understand the chain of discoveries that have led to modern chemistry and greatly influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.

AIP Conference Proceedings
AIP Conference Proceedings report findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.

Analytical Abstracts
Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.). Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.

Annual Reviews Online
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles from over 550 periodicals, both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology. Subject scope includes aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

ARIBIB Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References
Major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the international research literature. Includes biographical and historical references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals, proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog for information on print holdings).

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology,Policy and Non-Living Resources
This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

ASME digital library
Provides full text access to journals published by the ASME

ASTM Standards
Complete Section 04: Construction. Only Active Standards in Section 4 are available online at UNH. All standards can be searched or browsed and full text of any number of Section 4 Active Standards may be viewed or downloaded. For historical and red-lined standards, titles may be viewed, but fulltext is not included in the UNH Library subscription. ASTM International publishes over 12,500 standards each year on materials, products, systems and services, contributed by over 30,000 qualified ASTM members. Standards are reviewed every five years but may be revised at any time.

All ASTM standards in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards are available in print at the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library in Kingsbury Hall. The call number is: Eng TA 401 .A653, with the latest set located in the reference section and the previous two years in the regular stacks. Please ask Engr/Math Library staff if you would like assistance in finding a standard.

Astrophysics Data System
NASA project, provides indexes to research publications in astronomy and astrophysics/planetary sciences/solar physics; instrumentation; physics and geophysics; and the Los Alamos preprint server. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and dissertations. Searching is by author, object name (astronomy), title, words in the abstract, or journal citation. Links to online abstracts and journal articles, and extensive set of scanned journal and proceedings papers. Also provides access to NED (NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database) and SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements, and Bibliography for Astronomical Data). Other functions include a table-of-contents service for over 20 journals, links to cited and citing articles, and scanned copies of selected books and observatory reports.

Beilstein Crossfire
Major resource for research-level organic chemistry; started in 1771 as Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie. Beilstein includes data for over 8 million compounds and 5 million reactions, with citations to the primary literature. The powerful search interface allows data retrieval by structure, reaction attributes, properties, and keywords. Includes abstracts for journal articles from 1980 on. Requires special client software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service
The Internet Database Service provides access to online indexes covering major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science, sociology, and linguistics.

Chemoreception Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 150 journals on chemoreception research and applications. Covered areas include basic and applied research, standardization and legislation, methods and instrumentation, patents, and marketing. Corresponds to the printed Chemoreception Abstracts (see UNH Library Catalog for information on holdings).

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.

Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.

A free browser plug-in is available that allows you to draw and upload graphical structure queries. Please click "Get the Plug-In" (on list to left of search screen) for instructions and download.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Authoritative, encyclopedic coverage of astronomy and astrophysics, appropriate for college to post-graduate level. Includes 2,500 articles by eminent scientists, with personalization options, current news updates, and links to selected Web sites.

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology® is the World's first encyclopedia ever published in the field of nanotechnology. The 10-volume Encyclopedia is an unprecedented single reference source that provides ideal introduction and overview of most recent advances and emerging new aspects of nanotechnology spanning from science to engineering to medicine. It covers all aspects of nanoscale science and technology dealing with materials synthesis, processing, fabrication, probes, spectroscopy, physical properties, electronics, optics, mechanics, biotechnology, devices, etc.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
This encyclopedia presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science including polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. The resource is updated quarterly with new and substantially revised articles.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database offers abstracts of articles spanning the environmental sciences. Covers over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Individual subfiles (indexes) can be selected for more precise results. Subjects covered include: agricultural and environmental biotechnology, ecology, energy and water resources, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, pollution (air, land, water, noise), related microbiology, risk and safety, toxicology, hazardous waste, and waste management. Updated monthly.

ETDEWEB
ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. The collection includes over 3,109,800 bibliographic records and over 104,000 full text documents. Additional records may also have links to help users find the full text. ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information back to 1974 from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.

GeoRef
Comprehensive index to literature in geosciences, covering geology and related fields such as geochemistry, geophysics and hydrology. Includes references to articles, books, government publications, maps, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. Worldwide coverage in many languages.

Geoscience World
A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from 30 high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.

Gmelin Crossfire
Major resource for research-level inorganic and organometallic chemistry. The Gmelin Database and Handbook online includes literature citations and data for over 1.4 million compounds, searchable by structure, reaction attributes, properties and keywords. It corresponds to the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry (through 1975). Recently began including article abstracts. Requires special software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ

INIS Database
INIS provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. To do this, INIS processes most of the world´s scientific and technical literature that falls within its subject scope and maintains a database which currently contains over 2.5 million bibliographic references, making it the world´s most comprehensive information source on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology.

INSPEC
INSPEC, with over 7 million citations and abstracts, is the world's leading resource for coverage of research literature in physics, including astronomy and astrophysics. Its other subject strengths are electrical engineering; control, and computing, including information technology. International journals and conference proceedings are covered, with selected indexing of books and reports. This resource allows searching by specialized fields.

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology, 7 volumes and index (first electronic edition).
ICT offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been “knovelized” to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including the original index. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.

JCE Web Software
JCE Software is not about software, it is software--and a lot more! With over 100 titles published, JCE Software covers a broad spectrum of the chemistry curriculum, from high school to postgraduate.

Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.

JSTOR
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year.

Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.

knovel Critical Tables
kCT features tables of properties for commonly used chemical compounds in the physical properties tables. Tables in kCT include Basic Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds, Basic Physical Properties of Organic Compounds, Critical Properties and Acentric Factor, Enthalpy of Formation, Enthalpy of Vaporization, Entropy of Formation, Entropy of Gas, Gibbs Energy of Formation, Heat Capacity of Gas, Helmholtz Energy of Formation, Internal Energy of Formation, Basic Physical Properties of Common Solvents, and Safety Properties of Common Solvents.

NACA Technical Reports Server (NACATRS)
NACA, the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, operated from 1917-1958, when it became NASA. The NACATRS offers searching, browsing, and full-text of NACA reports covering NACA-sponsored aeronautical research and research on related topics such as meteorological and atmospheric conditions.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) provides students, educators, and the public with access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. Almost a million references are indexed as of August, 2005. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. For NASA reports that are not fully available from NTRS, please check the UNH Library Catalog or contact the Library's Government Documents Department for information.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical substances. Data provided are from collections maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. You may search by substance or property. Data that may be available for a substance include: thermochemistry and reaction thermochemistry, ion energetics; spectra: mass, UV, gas phase IR, vibrational and electronic; constants of diatomic molecules; Henry's Law data and thermophysical properties.

Oceanic Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting resource devoted to the international research literature on marine and brackish-water environments, including journals, conference proceedings, reports and government documents. Covers biological, chemical, and physical oceanography; fisheries and aquaculture; marine ecology; non-living marine resources; meteorology; marine geology, geochemistry, and geophysics; navigation and shipping; plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Corresponds to the printed resources Oceanic Abstracts, 1972-present, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology Policy & Non-Living Resources, 1978-present (see UNH Library Catalog for print holdings). Updated monthly.

Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**

Review of Particle Physics
updated every two years by members of the international Particle Data Group (PDG), RPP is a full review of current knowledge in particle physics. It includes data as well as well as textual information. Sections are: Summary Tables and Conservation Laws, including best values of measured properties of well-established particles; Reviews, Tables, Plots: covering the Standard Model, QCD, statistics, collider parameters, particle detectors, and cosmology; and Particle Listings, including evaluated data and brief reviews of aspects of many given particles.

Risk Abstracts
Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Researchers involved in risk research studies, environmental science, engineering and design, or any type of industry will find in Risk Abstracts essential information that can help them identify, measure, evaluate, and manage risks of all kinds.

Safari Books Online
provides access to the electronic versions of hundreds of technical books from the premier IT Publishers. The database content covers more than 20 categories, including Business Reference, Certification, Cisco, Creative Media, Database, Desktop Productivity, e-Business, Enterprise Computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Macintosh, .NET, Networking, Perl, Photoshop, Programming, Software Engineering, Web Administration, Web Authoring and Design, Web Development, Windows, Windows Administration, Windows Programming, and XML. The powerful Safari Tech Books Online search engine provides relevancy-ranked results for books and terms within the books; hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms; keywords in context in the hit-list; complete tables of contents and indexes for each book for easy page-to-page browsing; charts, graphs, and other graphics in full image, just as originally published; and cut-and-paste code segments to save time and eliminate typos.

Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.

Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.

SciFinder Scholar
The Web interface for the world’s foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexing and abstracting for the literature of pure and applied chemistry and related areas, broadly conceived; searchable by text, such as author and research topic, and by chemical structures and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings). Requires special software to search (see downloading instructions).

SDBS: Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
SDBS is produced by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan). It includes data for six types of spectra: EI mass spectrometry (over 20,000 compounds), hydrogen NMR, 13C NMR, FT-IR (over 49,000 spectra), and some ESR and Raman spectra. Access is freely available; users are asked to download no more than 50 spectra per day. If data is used, acknowledgement is requested, such as: SDBSWeb: http://www.aist.go.jp/RIODB/SDBS/ (access date)

Smithsonian Physical Tables (ninth revised edition)
Comprising 901 tables concentrating on a broad scope of common physical and chemical data, the information provided is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.

SPIE Digital Library
This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990 starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990.

SPIN Web (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Provides searching and links to abstracts and articles in over 80 journals, mainly American, in physics and related fields. SPIN entries are concurrent with publication, so this is a current awareness resource as well as a retrospective index. SPIN is hosted on SPIN Web, which also permits browsing of the journals, includes links to American Institute of Physics member societies, and provides access to the AIP's Directory of Physics, Astronomy & Geophysics Staff (DPAGS). SPIN corresponds to the print Current Physics Index. Updated every two weeks.

Water Resources Abstracts
Contains abstracts of technical and scientific reports, books, proceedings, journal articles, and government documents. Covers both groundwater and surface water, and includes topics such as water supply and conservation, water quality, erosion and sedimentation, hydraulics, and water laws. Pre-1994 coverage emphasizes the U.S. Access is through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts in the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management subfiles..

Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.