Access Science
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes regular
encyclopedia articles, a science dictionary, and an "In the News" section,
as well as several features that cater to undergraduate students: basic tables,
study guides, and brief scientific biographies. AccessScience is based on the
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
AGRICOLA
This Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) database is
produced by the National Agricultural Library and indexes
agricultural publications of all kinds from 1970 on. Updated monthly,
AGRICOLA is the best source for U.S. government and state government
publications as well as state agricultural experiment station
publications. Early records may not have abstracts. It was preceded
by the Bibliography of Agriculture.
Agricultural Economics and Rural Studies (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
AGRIS
This United Nations database is produced by the Food and
Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural
publications from 1975 on. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more
narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is
free to all.
Analytical Abstracts
Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of
analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and
by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.).
Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with
full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.
Animal Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Annual Reviews Online
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles from over 550 periodicals, both trade and professional society
journals, in applied science and technology. Subject scope includes aeronautics;
applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial
intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food
science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and
several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil,
electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
This Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) database is
produced by CSA, NOAA, several UN agencies, and a number of regional
centers. The database indexes freshwater, estuarine, and marine
publications of all kinds from 1978 on. Updated monthly, ASFA is the
best source for literature on the aquatic environment and related
biological, oceanographic, policy, pollution, and aquaculture issues.
Indexing includes scientific names of organisms and geographic names.
Bibliography and Index of Micropaleontology
Cumulative index of worldwide current publications in all fields of micropaleontology (the study of microscopic fossils).
Biological Abstracts
This database is produced by Biological
Abstracts (BIOSIS) Inc. and indexes articles in research journals
from 1985 on. Updated quarterly, Biological Abstracts covers about
5,200 sources of biological and biomedical literature in the broadest
sense. The long abstracts and indexing of scientific names and
systematic categories are important features. UNH's license limits
searching to a maximum of 10 concurrent users.
BioMedCentral Open Access
BioMedCentral is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
BioOne
This is a collection of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small scholarly societies. There are several journal collections included in the BioOne database, which are all searchable. UNH has full text access to BioOne.1 and Open Access titles. We do not have full text access to BioOne.2 or UniBio titles through this database.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 600 journals. Covers research, applications,
regulatory developments and new patents for all areas of biotechnology and
bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, and
environmental fields, and marine biology. Corresponds to the printed indexes:
Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts; ASFA Marine Biotechnology
Abstracts; Bioengineering Abstracts; Biotechnology Research Abstracts (archive);
Genetics Abstracts; Medical & Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts;
Microbiology Abstracts Section A: Industrial & Applied Microbiology (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on print holdings).
CABDirect
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service
The Internet Database Service provides access to online indexes covering major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science, sociology, and linguistics.
Chemoreception Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 150 journals on chemoreception research and
applications. Covered areas include basic and applied research,
standardization and legislation, methods and instrumentation, patents, and
marketing. Corresponds to the printed Chemoreception Abstracts (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on holdings).
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology Online access to Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is partially funded by the Philip J. Sawyer Fund.
lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.
Dissertation Abstracts International (Digital Dissertations)
The online version of Dissertation Abstracts includes citations back to 1861,
abstracts back to 1980 and 24-page previews for all dissertations after 1997.
Best of all, Digital Dissertations includes the full-text of all Univ. of New
Hampshire dissertations from 1997 onward, as well as full-text of all UNH Masters Theses from 2006 onward.
Ecology and Environmental Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Encyclopedia of Pest Management
The Encyclopedia of Pest Management is a key reference work for professionals in academia, industry and government, as well as students at all levels. This resource includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
The Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science covers classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science, from the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Provides complete information on chemistry, analysis, and
evaluation of soils and geography and focuses on agriculture
development in the third world, particularly through research on
sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and
environmental quality. Offers tools to restore and reinvigorate
highly compromised soil! Includes detailed contributions from more
than 400 esteemed international authorities across nearly 400
entries, plus over 1,000 illustrations
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database offers abstracts of articles spanning the
environmental sciences. Covers over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of
other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and
government publications. Individual subfiles (indexes) can be selected for more
precise results. Subjects covered include: agricultural and environmental
biotechnology, ecology, energy and water resources, environmental engineering,
environmental impact statements, pollution (air, land, water, noise), related
microbiology, risk and safety, toxicology, hazardous waste, and waste management.
Updated monthly.
ETHXWeb
A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
Genetics and Ethics Database
A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.
GeoRef
Comprehensive index to literature in geosciences, covering geology and related
fields such as geochemistry, geophysics and hydrology. Includes references to
articles, books, government publications, maps, reports, conference proceedings,
theses and dissertations. Worldwide coverage in many languages.
Human Health (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ
International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies. IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.
Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.
JSTOR Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into
six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins
with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed
period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current
year.
Leisure, Recreation and Tourism (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Nutrition Care Manual
The Nutrition Care Manual® provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.
Oceanic Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting resource devoted to the international research
literature on marine and brackish-water environments, including journals,
conference proceedings, reports and government documents. Covers biological,
chemical, and physical oceanography; fisheries and aquaculture; marine ecology;
non-living marine resources; meteorology; marine geology, geochemistry, and
geophysics; navigation and shipping; plus environmental, technological, and
legislative topics. Corresponds to the printed resources Oceanic Abstracts,
1972-present, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology
Policy & Non-Living Resources, 1978-present (see UNH Library Catalog for print
holdings). Updated monthly.
Plant Information Online
This University of Minnesota Library database indexes 1,000
nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines. PIO is the best way
to search for nursery sources of or magazine articles about specific
varieties of ornamental plants. The service was preceded by the
Andersen Horticultural Library's Source List. For Username and
Password: send email to dml2@cisunix.unh.edu.
Plant Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
PLANTS Database
provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Prokaryotes
an evolving online-only multimedia encyclopedia of microbiology. Arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, the encyclopedia is being updated constantly. Topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and
biotechnology. The organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.
PubMed
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on.
Updated daily, PubMed (a version of MEDLINE) covers about 4,000
sources of biomedical literature in the broadest sense. The indexing
which uses standardized medical subject headings (MeSH) and
searchable lists of journal titles are important features.
Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**
Risk Abstracts
Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Researchers involved in risk research studies, environmental science, engineering and design, or any type of industry will find in Risk Abstracts essential information that can help them identify, measure, evaluate, and manage risks of all kinds.
Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.
Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.
SciFinder Scholar
The Web interface for the worldÂ’s foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexing and abstracting for the literature of pure and applied chemistry and related areas, broadly conceived; searchable by text, such as author and research topic, and by chemical structures and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings). Requires special software to search (see downloading instructions).
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.
Toxicology Abstracts
Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances. Topics of current concern such as the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, and much more are extensively examined. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered.
Toxline
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on.
Updated quarterly, TOXLINE indexes about 4,000 sources of biomedical
literature that cover toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Part of TOXNET website.
Water Resources Abstracts
Contains abstracts of technical and scientific reports, books, proceedings,
journal articles, and government documents. Covers both groundwater and
surface water, and includes topics such as water supply and conservation,
water quality, erosion and sedimentation, hydraulics, and water laws. Pre-1994
coverage emphasizes the U.S. Access is through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
in the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management subfiles..
Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
This database indexes articles from
six international databases from 1935 on that cover wildlife and
wildlife management. Updated monthly, Wildlife Worldwide indexing
uses scientific names of reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.
The database is the best source for governmental publications,
especially state publications, concerning wildlife issues.
WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat
interface.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.