Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Humanities

Total number: 48

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics, editorials and advertisements. Newspapers include the Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.

America: History and Life
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage is from 1964 to the present from over 2,100 journals and is updated monthly. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.

Art Index
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Source documents also include yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of art works.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

Bibliography of the History of Art
indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

Caliber : journals of the University of California Press
Caliber is the online journals hosting service of University of California Press. Designed to meet the research needs of scholars, researchers, and students, Caliber holds the content for most journals published by UC Press.

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This is a full-text, full-image collection of newspapers dating from 1860-1865 that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War. They also include advertisements, news articles and editorials.

Early American Imprints (1639-1800)
based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Evans Digital Edition is being released in monthly segments over a two-year period (beginning July 2002).

The Evans Digital Collection is funded through the support of the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, and the University of New Hampshire Library.

EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online [ECCO]
based on the English Short Title Catalogue, this resource provides full-text access to 150,000 English and foreign-language works published in the United Kingdom during the Eighteenth Century. Included are thousands of important works produced in the Americas. There are multiple, full-text searching options to gain access to the 33 million pages of books, sermons, pamphlets and broadsides. This truly multidisciplinary resource includes works in: history; the social sciences; the fine arts; medicine; science and technology; religion and philosophy; law; and literature and languages.

The purchase of Eighteenth Century Collections Online was partially funded by:

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Encyclopedia of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (English) Volumes I-XI and Supplement (Volume XII). Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages

English Short Title Catalogue
The English Short Title Catalogue provides descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language—as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.

Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800)
based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Evans Digital Edition is being released in monthly segments over a two-year period (beginning July 2002).

The Evans Digital Collection is funded through the support of the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, and the University of New Hampshire Library.

Film Index International
An information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.

Film Literature Index 1976-2001
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

Godey's Lady's Book
The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Lady’s Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions and updates, 130,000 searchable images, and linked cross-references.

Grove Music Online
Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world, including sound archives and illustrations.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Historical Abstracts
Index to journal articles, book and video reviews, and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes material from over 2,100 academic journals. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.

History of the American Cinema Vol.1-10
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. .

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

In the First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals the creators have indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes—those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world.

Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ

Inter-play: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
Contains approximately 19,000 citations to plays in English- and foreign-language collections, anthologies, and periodicals published since the late 19th century. Once a source title has been identified, search the UNH Library catalog by the source title to check if the Library has the collection, anthology or periodical. Separately published plays are not included.

JSTOR
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year.

Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index to journal articles in disciplines covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Also covers communications disorders and special education. Updated monthly.

Literature Online (LION)
A full-text resource for English and American literature. Provides access to primary sources (English and American poetry, fiction, and drama) and secondary sources (a literary journal index with full text, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Internet resource links for literature, biographical information, and more).

Making of America (Cornell)
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.

Making of America (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. Covers journal articles, books and book chapters, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats.

Music Index Online
Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. This resource indexes international music periodicals for topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music, including book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Music Index online currently covers 1973 to the present.

New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.

Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.

Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language

PRISMA
PRISMA Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content.

Project Muse
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**

Religious and theological abstracts
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Listing a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) is a continuously updated bibliography of music literature that includes records in over 100 languages from 3,700 journals.

Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.

ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

Women Writers Online
A Brown University project to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible online.

WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.