Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Health/Medicine/Sports

Total number: 38

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.

AGRIS
This United Nations database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural publications from 1975 on. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is free to all.

Biological Abstracts
This database is produced by Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) Inc. and indexes articles in research journals from 1985 on. Updated quarterly, Biological Abstracts covers about 5,200 sources of biological and biomedical literature in the broadest sense. The long abstracts and indexing of scientific names and systematic categories are important features. UNH's license limits searching to a maximum of 10 concurrent users.

Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 600 journals. Covers research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents for all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, and environmental fields, and marine biology. Corresponds to the printed indexes: Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts; ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts; Bioengineering Abstracts; Biotechnology Research Abstracts (archive); Genetics Abstracts; Medical & Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts; Microbiology Abstracts Section A: Industrial & Applied Microbiology (see UNH Library Catalog for information on print holdings).

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service
The Internet Database Service provides access to online indexes covering major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science, sociology, and linguistics.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines. Offers access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software in nursing, audiovisuals, book chapters, and other publications. Updated weekly.

Cochrane Collection - Cochrane Reviews and Protocols
Consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including full text articles reviewing the effects of healthcare, abstracts of systematic reviews from around the world, and a bibliography of controlled trials. The Cochrane Library provides high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.

Cochrane Collection - Database of Abstracts and Reviews of Effects
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.

EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

ETHXWeb
A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

Genetics and Ethics Database
A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Database has searchable full text for nearly 160 journals; abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications; thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems; over 1,000 health-related pamphlets; and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Consumer information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text for nearly 160 journals including the British Medical Journal and The Lancet, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

Human Health (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI) database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect, also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40 printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.

Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ

Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.

MEDLINE (through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Contains over 4 million citations and abstracts from worldwide biomedical literature relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

MEDLINE (through EBSCOhost)
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and pre-clinical sciences. Contains full-text articles from nearly 90 leading medical journals. Includes the entire MEDLINE collection, which provides abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR. Updated monthly.

New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.

Nutrition Care Manual
The Nutrition Care ManualĀ® provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

OECD Health Data 2005
OECD Health Data 2005 offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. This tool enables health researchers to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. OECD Health Data is a unique, interactive database covering over 1 200 indicators and offering sophisticated query modules. The most recent data are for 2002/2003, with many time series going back as far as 1960.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
an online library of current event topics--the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVRC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks which allow students to explore each topic's many facets. The online version has the viewpoints articles along with statistics, websites and reference and magazine/newspaper articles.

OT Search
OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subjects, including rehabilitation, education, psychiatry, psychology, and health care administration. The database includes citations to journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, dissertations, and theses.

OT 101 is no longer a working option. Please run all searches on OT Search.

Plant Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI) database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect, also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40 printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.

PsycArticles
database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Weekly updates.

PubMed
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on. Updated daily, PubMed (a version of MEDLINE) covers about 4,000 sources of biomedical literature in the broadest sense. The indexing which uses standardized medical subject headings (MeSH) and searchable lists of journal titles are important features.

Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**

Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.

Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.

Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.

Social Work Abstracts
Contains more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.

SPORT Discus
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes over 1,200 international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC).

Toxline
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on. Updated quarterly, TOXLINE indexes about 4,000 sources of biomedical literature that cover toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals. Part of TOXNET website.

University of New Hampshire Health Services
Health Services is an integrated health and wellness service that operates from a holistic perspective. The Health Services website provides information about programs, services and education as well as links to resources on a wide range of topics from nutrition to yoga to time management.

Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.