Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

General/Cross-Disciplinary

Total number: 75

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.

Aluka
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka’s partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.

As subscribers to the JSTOR Collections, UNH will receive free access to this collection until June 2008.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. As part of the most comprehensive digital archive of historical American newspapers available, this collection currently includes the following three series: Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900 Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922

The purchase of America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:

American National Biography
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Please note that all the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.

Mac Users - Use Safari or Firefox with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Biography Resource Center
can be used to find past and present noteworthy figures for personal or general interest, or as a biographical starting point for in-depth research on a particular event, country or era. The database combines award-winning biographies with full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.

Books in Print
Citations for over 3.5 million books currently in print with more than 600,000 full-text reviews from 11 leading sources. It also includes video and audio listings, as well as out-of-print titles, titles by award, best-sellers, biographies, and publisher directory information.

Caliber : journals of the University of California Press
Caliber is the online journals hosting service of University of California Press. Designed to meet the research needs of scholars, researchers, and students, Caliber holds the content for most journals published by UC Press.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service
The Internet Database Service provides access to online indexes covering major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science, sociology, and linguistics.

Career Insider (powered by Vault)
Vault has been called "The best place on the Web to prepare for a job search." Vault is a great resource for insider company information, advice, and career management services. The site contains more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.

Cataloger's Desktop
provides the most widely used cataloging documentation resources in an integrated, online system. Also, the new product includes the current version of the Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules, 2nd edition (AACR2).

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The online edition of the Chicago Manual of Style includes the fully-searchable text of the 15th edition with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, a feature popular with copy editors and grammar aficionados, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions.

Choice Reviews Online
Choice Reviews Online is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

Classification Web
World Wide Web access to Library of Congress Classification and Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Congressional Research Service Reports
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.

Congressional Universe
Provides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes indexing of congressional publications and legislative histories for public laws from 1970 to the present. Also includes testimony from congressional hearings, information about members of Congress and Congressional committees, and bill tracking. Provides access to the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations.

CQ Researcher
Essential source on the most critical events and controversial subjects of the day. Each of the 44 weekly issues offers a balanced, in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic by a veteran journalist, pro and con arguments by experts, a chronology, and annotated bibliographies to guide additional research.

CREDO reference
Credo reference (formerly called xreferplus) is an online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Digital Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn Maps provides access to the Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire published between 1885 and 1943. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.

Dissertation Abstracts International (Digital Dissertations)
The online version of Dissertation Abstracts includes citations back to 1861, abstracts back to 1980 and 24-page previews for all dissertations after 1997. Best of all, Digital Dissertations includes the full-text of all Univ. of New Hampshire dissertations from 1997 onward, as well as full-text of all UNH Masters Theses from 2006 onward.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

The purchase of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:

Early English Books
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

The purchase of Early English Books Online was funded by the James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund.

EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com is an online resource for automotive information. Its comprehensive set of data, tools and services is generated by Edmunds.com Information Solutions. This site includes Edmunds most popular consumer product, Edmunds.com True Market Value® pricing, which provides market-reflective valuations for new and used vehicles.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
EB Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Available are 72,000 encyclopedia articles, 10,000 illustrations, and 75,000 definitions.

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all major areas, including social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.

ETHXWeb
A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

Facts on file world news digest
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Updated weekly.

Family Studies Abstracts
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Film & Television Literature Index
a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

Foundation Directory Online
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides subscribers with access to information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 96,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3,600 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 1.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 533,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Genetics and Ethics Database
A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource contains a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The resource will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

***Note*** To use the custom tables, users must register for an account. To register, click on the register link in the upper right corner of the page and complete the form.

History of the American Cinema Vol.1-10
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. .

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive, established in 1962, acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

***Note*** Users must register for an account. UNH users are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper right corner of the page.

In the First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals the creators have indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes—those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world.

Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ

ingenta (formerly UnCover)
UnCover is now part of ingenta's integrated services with free searching and browsing of more than 25,000 publications. The Browse Publications feature allows review of contents of individual issues. Searching is also available by keyword and author.

JSTOR
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year.

Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include articles from international and national newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reporters. Reference databases provide a biographical dictionary, country and state profiles, quotations, polls and surveys, and a world almanac.

LGBT Life
LGBT Life is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented.

Making of America (Cornell)
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.

Making of America (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Marcive WebDocs Catalog
Most comprehensive index to U.S. government documents published since 1976. It is a privately-produced equivalent to the government's Monthly Catalog.

New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.

Newspaper Source
Contains full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times. Also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

O*Net Online
The Occupational Information Network provides information on occupational requirements such as knowledge, relevant education, job activities as well as the work context and conditions for more than 950 occupations. Links to national and state occupational outlook and wage information.

Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Includes official United Nations documents exclusive of sales publications, press releases, treaties, and Department of Public Information brochures.

Open CRS: Congressional Research Reports for the People
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
an online library of current event topics--the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVRC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks which allow students to explore each topic's many facets. The online version has the viewpoints articles along with statistics, websites and reference and magazine/newspaper articles.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.

Policy Archive
The Policy Archive is a searchable, open access archive of public policy research by a variety of national research organizations. Subjects include agriculture, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights, science and technology, trade, and much more.

Project Muse
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**

Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.

Sanborn Digital Maps
Sanborn Digital Maps provides access to the Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire published between 1885 and 1943. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.

ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.

Stat-USA
Authoritative statistical information from more than 50 federal government agencies on the U.S. economy, country studies, international trade including trade opportunities, and procurement. Includes the National Trade Data Bank and Economic Bulletin Board.

Statistical Universe
Comprehensive access to statistical information. Service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817 -
Historic maps pulled from the nearly 14,000 volumes that make up the U.S. Congressional Serials Set. As with other parts of the Serials Set, this page allows you to search for maps by location, subject, personal name, issuing agency, and date.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
a comprehensive digital edition of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, which contains reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. This resource enables researchers to quickly and easily explore U.S. history and culture in unprecedented depth and detail.

The purchase of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 was partially funded by:

Ulrichsweb
A comprehensive worldwide bibliographic database including info. on over 250,000 serials publications. Users can pinpoint specific journals or conduct broad based subject or publisher surveys.

UNH Publication Index
The UNH Publication Index includes citations to articles in University of New Hampshire newspapers and periodicals. Citations list article keywords, topic of article, title of article, date of publication, and serial title.

Vault Online Career Library
Vault has been called "The best place on the Web to prepare for a job search." Vault is a great resource for insider company information, advice, and career management services. The site contains more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.

Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition Online
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal newspaper which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. Database content includes business and financial news and analysis, company news, regular columns and special reports, in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, company and personal profiles, and Reuters news stories. Updated daily.

Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

Westlaw Campus
Westlaw Campus is an online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.

To access Westlaw, you may need to adjust your security settings. Some common solutions are below.

*Set Westlaw as a trusted site:
- Choose "Internet Options" from the Tools drop down menu on your browser toolbar.
- Click on the "Security" tab.
- Click on the "Trusted Sites" web content zone.
- Click on the "sites" button.
- If the box "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone" is checked, then type "https://*.westlaw.com" in "Add this web site to the zone" (If this box is not checked, type "westlaw.com" in "Add this web site to the zone")
*Set your internet security setting to medium (Tools, Internet Options, Security)
*Hold the "Shift" or "Ctrl" key when clicking to temporarily disable the pop-up blocker. (This control is generally located under Options).

Due to contractional agreements, Westlaw Campus users only have the option to print directly from Case Databases, American Law Reports (ALR), and American Jurisprudence.

World Development Indicators
provides direct access to more than 800 development indicators, with time series for 209 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008.

World News Connection
Extensive database of translated and English-language news and information taken from the foreign media (newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classed technical reports) covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. ***Attention Mac users: Use Safari to access this database.***

WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.

xreferplus
xreferplus (now called CREDO reference) is an online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.