Access Science
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes regular
encyclopedia articles, a science dictionary, and an "In the News" section,
as well as several features that cater to undergraduate students: basic tables,
study guides, and brief scientific biographies. AccessScience is based on the
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Analytical Abstracts
Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of
analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and
by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.).
Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with
full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles from over 550 periodicals, both trade and professional society
journals, in applied science and technology. Subject scope includes aeronautics;
applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial
intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food
science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and
several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil,
electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.
ASME digital library
Provides full text access to journals published by the ASME
ASTM Standards
Complete Section 04: Construction. Only Active Standards in Section 4 are available online at UNH. All standards can be searched or browsed and full text of any number of Section 4 Active Standards may be viewed or downloaded. For historical and red-lined standards, titles may be viewed, but fulltext is not included in the UNH Library subscription. ASTM International publishes over 12,500 standards each year on materials, products, systems and services, contributed by over 30,000 qualified ASTM members. Standards are reviewed every five years but may be revised at any time.
All ASTM standards in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards are available in print at the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library in Kingsbury Hall. The call number is: Eng TA 401 .A653, with the latest set located in the reference section and the previous two years in the regular stacks. Please ask Engr/Math Library staff if you would like assistance in finding a standard.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 600 journals. Covers research, applications,
regulatory developments and new patents for all areas of biotechnology and
bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, and
environmental fields, and marine biology. Corresponds to the printed indexes:
Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts; ASFA Marine Biotechnology
Abstracts; Bioengineering Abstracts; Biotechnology Research Abstracts (archive);
Genetics Abstracts; Medical & Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts;
Microbiology Abstracts Section A: Industrial & Applied Microbiology (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on print holdings).
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service
The Internet Database Service provides access to online indexes covering major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science, sociology, and linguistics.
Compendex
Index to 2,600 journals, conferences, and reports, with comprehensive coverage
of engineering literature. Includes abstracts for 50% of entries. Offers
personalized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts.
Corresponds to the printed title Engineering Index, 1884-present (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on holdings).
Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.
Ei Compendex
Index to 2,600 journals, conferences, and reports, with comprehensive coverage
of engineering literature. Includes abstracts for 50% of entries. Offers
personalized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts.
Corresponds to the printed title Engineering Index, 1884-present (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on holdings).
Engineering Village 2
Web search interface for published engineering information, including searches
of Ei Compendex; engineering handbooks (not linked to data; use citation to
look up reference at Library); the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web site;
and TechStreet standards (not linked to full-text). Offers specialized options,
including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts for Ei Compendex.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database offers abstracts of articles spanning the
environmental sciences. Covers over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of
other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and
government publications. Individual subfiles (indexes) can be selected for more
precise results. Subjects covered include: agricultural and environmental
biotechnology, ecology, energy and water resources, environmental engineering,
environmental impact statements, pollution (air, land, water, noise), related
microbiology, risk and safety, toxicology, hazardous waste, and waste management.
Updated monthly.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ
INSPEC
INSPEC, with over 7 million citations and abstracts, is the world's leading
resource for coverage of research literature in physics, including
astronomy and astrophysics. Its other subject strengths are electrical
engineering; control, and computing, including information technology.
International journals and conference proceedings are covered, with
selected indexing of books and reports. This resource allows searching by
specialized fields.
Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.
NACA Technical Reports Server (NACATRS)
NACA, the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, operated from 1917-1958, when it became NASA. The NACATRS offers searching, browsing, and full-text of NACA reports covering NACA-sponsored aeronautical research and research on related topics such as meteorological and atmospheric conditions.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) provides students, educators, and the public with access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. Almost a million references are indexed as of August, 2005. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. For NASA reports that are not fully available from NTRS, please check the UNH Library Catalog or contact the Library's Government Documents Department for information.
Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**
Safari Books Online
provides access to the electronic versions of hundreds of technical books from the premier IT Publishers. The database content covers more than 20 categories, including Business Reference, Certification, Cisco, Creative Media, Database, Desktop Productivity, e-Business, Enterprise Computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Macintosh, .NET, Networking, Perl, Photoshop, Programming, Software Engineering, Web Administration, Web Authoring and Design, Web Development, Windows, Windows Administration, Windows Programming, and XML. The powerful Safari Tech Books Online search engine provides relevancy-ranked results for books and terms within the books; hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms; keywords in context in the hit-list; complete tables of contents and indexes for each book for easy page-to-page browsing; charts, graphs, and other graphics in full image, just as originally published; and cut-and-paste code segments to save time and eliminate typos.
Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.
ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.
SciFinder Scholar
The Web interface for the worlds foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexing and abstracting for the literature of pure and applied chemistry and related areas, broadly conceived; searchable by text, such as author and research topic, and by chemical structures and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings). Requires special software to search (see downloading instructions).
SPIE Digital Library
This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990 starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Service)
The TRIS database focuses on transportation research and contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports,
conference proceedings, journal articles, and on-going research in the field of transportation: highways, transit, railroads, maritime, and aviation. All aspects of transportation research are covered including planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors, and operations.
Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat
interface.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.