Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.
Chronicle of Higher Education
provides daily updates on the latest news in higher education along with career andvice and counseling for beginners and experienced academics alike.
Dissertation Abstracts International (Digital Dissertations)
The online version of Dissertation Abstracts includes citations back to 1861,
abstracts back to 1980 and 24-page previews for all dissertations after 1997.
Best of all, Digital Dissertations includes the full-text of all Univ. of New
Hampshire dissertations from 1997 onward, as well as full-text of all UNH Masters Theses from 2006 onward.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.
Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. While the question answer service will no longer be active, The Educator's Reference Desk provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.
ERIC on EBSCOhost (Educational Resources Information Center)
The U.S. Department of Educations Educational Resource Information Center
database. Contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and
education-related journals. Also contains full text of more than 2,200 digests
along with references for additional information. The University Library
subscribes to many of the journals cited by ERIC (EJ citations) and receives the
majority of ERIC documents (ED citations) on microfiche. Updated quarterly.
ERIC via Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. While the question answer service will no longer be active, The Educator's Reference Desk provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.
Europa World of Learning
A comprehensive directory and guide to the organizations and institutions throughout the sphere of higher education and learning. Profiling some 30,000 academic institutions and over 200,000 staff and officials, this work covers the whole of the higher education and learning spectrum. Content includes: introductory surveys for every country providing a profile of higher education framework, directory section of regulatory and representative bodies for selected countries, and four specially commissioned essays covering the field of higher education around the world.
Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data
Archive, established in 1962, acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.
***Note*** Users must register for an account. UNH users are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper right corner of the page.
Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ
Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.
JSTOR Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into
six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins
with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed
period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current
year.
LGBT Life
LGBT Life is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented.
New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
an online library of current event topics--the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVRC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks which allow students to explore each topic's many facets. The online version has the viewpoints articles along with statistics, websites and reference and magazine/newspaper articles.
Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library childrens rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
Project Muse
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and
mathematics.
PsycArticles
database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books,
dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the
psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry,
nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics,
anthropology, business, and law. Weekly updates.
Refworks
an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. **All users must sign up for an individual account**
ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.
Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat
interface.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.