Safari Books Online
provides access to the electronic versions of hundreds of technical books from the premier IT Publishers. The database content covers more than 20 categories, including Business Reference, Certification, Cisco, Creative Media, Database, Desktop Productivity, e-Business, Enterprise Computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Macintosh, .NET, Networking, Perl, Photoshop, Programming, Software Engineering, Web Administration, Web Authoring and Design, Web Development, Windows, Windows Administration, Windows Programming, and XML. The powerful Safari Tech Books Online search engine provides relevancy-ranked results for books and terms within the books; hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms; keywords in context in the hit-list; complete tables of contents and indexes for each book for easy page-to-page browsing; charts, graphs, and other graphics in full image, just as originally published; and cut-and-paste code segments to save time and eliminate typos.
Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.
Sanborn Digital Maps
Sanborn Digital Maps provides access to the Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire published between 1885 and 1943. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.
Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.
SciFinder Scholar
The Web interface for the worlds foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexing and abstracting for the literature of pure and applied chemistry and related areas, broadly conceived; searchable by text, such as author and research topic, and by chemical structures and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings). Requires special software to search (see downloading instructions).
SDBS: Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
SDBS is produced by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan). It includes data for six types of spectra: EI mass spectrometry (over 20,000 compounds), hydrogen NMR, 13C NMR, FT-IR (over 49,000 spectra), and some ESR and Raman spectra. Access is freely available; users are asked to download no more than 50 spectra per day. If data is used, acknowledgement is requested, such as: SDBSWeb: http://www.aist.go.jp/RIODB/SDBS/ (access date)
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (ninth revised edition)
Comprising 901 tables concentrating on a broad scope of common physical and chemical data, the information provided is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
Social Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
Social Work Abstracts
Contains more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, drawn from over 1,640 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Major areas of coverage include community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, evaluation research, family and social welfare, policy, planning, forecast and speculation, health and medicine and law, religion and science, violence, power, and womens studies.
SPIE Digital Library
This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990 starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990.
SPIN Web (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Provides searching and links to abstracts and articles in over 80 journals, mainly American, in physics and related fields. SPIN entries are concurrent with publication, so this is a current awareness resource as well as a retrospective index. SPIN is hosted on SPIN Web, which also permits browsing of the journals, includes links to American Institute of Physics member societies, and provides access to the AIP's Directory of Physics, Astronomy & Geophysics Staff (DPAGS). SPIN corresponds to the print Current Physics Index. Updated every two weeks.
SPORT Discus
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes over 1,200 international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC).
Sports Business Research Network
SBRnet focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It provides updated resources featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, and sports marketing.
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
Industry Surveys provides in-depth financial and business analysis of 52 major U.S. industries, including information about recent developments with forecasts of industry conditions and emerging trends. Users can view tables, charts, and graphs of key industry conditions and statistics along with textual analysis and commentary. Historical data is archived for 3 years.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.
Stat-USA
Authoritative statistical information from more than 50 federal government agencies on the U.S. economy, country studies, international trade including trade opportunities, and procurement. Includes the National Trade Data Bank and Economic Bulletin Board.
Statistical Universe
Comprehensive access to statistical information. Service allows users to search
summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected
publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.
Thomas Register
Thomas Register is a comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Users can search by product, company, or brand name through more than 72,000 product headings and more than 170,000 company listings.
Toxicology Abstracts
Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances. Topics of current concern such as the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, and much more are extensively examined. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered.
Toxline
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on.
Updated quarterly, TOXLINE indexes about 4,000 sources of biomedical
literature that cover toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Part of TOXNET website.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Service)
The TRIS database focuses on transportation research and contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports,
conference proceedings, journal articles, and on-going research in the field of transportation: highways, transit, railroads, maritime, and aviation. All aspects of transportation research are covered including planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors, and operations.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.