PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the
social sciences in general. Journal articles, books, government documents,
statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of
public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of
printed literature from all over the world are indexed.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and
related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political
philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the
philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language
Plant Information Online
This University of Minnesota Library database indexes 1,000
nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines. PIO is the best way
to search for nursery sources of or magazine articles about specific
varieties of ornamental plants. The service was preceded by the
Andersen Horticultural Library's Source List. For Username and
Password: send email to dml2@cisunix.unh.edu.
Plant Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
PLANTS Database
provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Policy Archive
The Policy Archive is a searchable, open access archive of public policy research by a variety of national research organizations. Subjects include agriculture, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights, science and technology, trade, and much more.
Population Index
An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles,
working papers, and other materials on population topics.
Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library childrenÂ’s rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
PRISMA
PRISMA Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y HumanĂsticas is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content.
Project Muse
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and
mathematics.
Prokaryotes
an evolving online-only multimedia encyclopedia of microbiology. Arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, the encyclopedia is being updated constantly. Topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and
biotechnology. The organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.
PsycArticles
database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycCritiques Mac Users - Use Safari or Firefox with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.
Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995. There are 3 ways to access information: (1) view the weekly releases; (2) browse by author/editor, book/film title, or publication year; (3) perform a standard database search.
Psychologists And Their Theories For Students
This resource provides coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay provides an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, from behaviorism to Gestalt theory, introducing the basic history of the field. Detailed entries follow, explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books,
dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the
psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry,
nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics,
anthropology, business, and law. Weekly updates.
PubMed
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on.
Updated daily, PubMed (a version of MEDLINE) covers about 4,000
sources of biomedical literature in the broadest sense. The indexing
which uses standardized medical subject headings (MeSH) and
searchable lists of journal titles are important features.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.