Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Total number: 29

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
This volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. The dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives ample attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with unusual care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

Harvard Dictionary of Music
The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. It includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Database has searchable full text for nearly 160 journals; abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications; thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems; over 1,000 health-related pamphlets; and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Consumer information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text for nearly 160 journals including the British Medical Journal and The Lancet, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

Hearth
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.

Hengwrt Chaucer Digital Facsimile
The Hengwrt Chaucer, (National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth, MS. Peniarth 392 D, hereafter Hg), is believed to be the earliest extant copy of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales and has usually been dated soon after Chaucer’s death in 1400.

Historical Abstracts
Index to journal articles, book and video reviews, and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes material from over 2,100 academic journals. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource contains a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The resource will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

***Note*** To use the custom tables, users must register for an account. To register, click on the register link in the upper right corner of the page and complete the form.

History of the American Cinema Vol.1-10
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. .

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The HSDL is a program of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training.

Hospitality &Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 670,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 330 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. This comprehensive database combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University’s former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.

Human Health (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI) database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect, also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40 printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive, established in 1962, acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

***Note*** Users must register for an account. UNH users are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper right corner of the page.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

In the First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals the creators have indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumes—those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world.

Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ

ingenta (formerly UnCover)
UnCover is now part of ingenta's integrated services with free searching and browsing of more than 25,000 publications. The Browse Publications feature allows review of contents of individual issues. Searching is also available by keyword and author.

INIS Database
INIS provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. To do this, INIS processes most of the world´s scientific and technical literature that falls within its subject scope and maintains a database which currently contains over 2.5 million bibliographic references, making it the world´s most comprehensive information source on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology.

INSPEC
INSPEC, with over 7 million citations and abstracts, is the world's leading resource for coverage of research literature in physics, including astronomy and astrophysics. Its other subject strengths are electrical engineering; control, and computing, including information technology. International journals and conference proceedings are covered, with selected indexing of books and reports. This resource allows searching by specialized fields.

Inter-play: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
Contains approximately 19,000 citations to plays in English- and foreign-language collections, anthologies, and periodicals published since the late 19th century. Once a source title has been identified, search the UNH Library catalog by the source title to check if the Library has the collection, anthology or periodical. Separately published plays are not included.

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology, 7 volumes and index (first electronic edition).
ICT offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been “knovelized” to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including the original index. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.

International Financial Statistics Online
a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. The database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages.

International Medieval Bibliography
The International Medieval Bibliography provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.

International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies. IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.

JCE Web Software
JCE Software is not about software, it is software--and a lot more! With over 100 titles published, JCE Software covers a broad spectrum of the chemistry curriculum, from high school to postgraduate.

Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.

JSTOR
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year.

Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.

knovel Critical Tables
kCT features tables of properties for commonly used chemical compounds in the physical properties tables. Tables in kCT include Basic Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds, Basic Physical Properties of Organic Compounds, Critical Properties and Acentric Factor, Enthalpy of Formation, Enthalpy of Vaporization, Entropy of Formation, Entropy of Gas, Gibbs Energy of Formation, Heat Capacity of Gas, Helmholtz Energy of Formation, Internal Energy of Formation, Basic Physical Properties of Common Solvents, and Safety Properties of Common Solvents.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.