Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Total number: 17

Facts on file world news digest
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Updated weekly.

Family Studies Abstracts
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Film & Television Literature Index
a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

Film Index International
An information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.

Film Literature Index 1976-2001
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

FIS Online
See Mergent Online.

Foundation Directory Online
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides subscribers with access to information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 96,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3,600 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 1.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 533,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Genetics and Ethics Database
A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

GeoRef
Comprehensive index to literature in geosciences, covering geology and related fields such as geochemistry, geophysics and hydrology. Includes references to articles, books, government publications, maps, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. Worldwide coverage in many languages.

Geoscience World
A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from 30 high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.

Gmelin Crossfire
Major resource for research-level inorganic and organometallic chemistry. The Gmelin Database and Handbook online includes literature citations and data for over 1.4 million compounds, searchable by structure, reaction attributes, properties and keywords. It corresponds to the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry (through 1975). Recently began including article abstracts. Requires special software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.

Godey's Lady's Book
The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Lady’s Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs.

GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions and updates, 130,000 searchable images, and linked cross-references.

Grove Music Online
Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world, including sound archives and illustrations.

Guide to Law Online
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

Guidestar
a database of more than 850,000 U.S. charitable organizations providing information about the operations and finances of nonprofit organizations including the Form 990. The database can be searched by organization type, name, location, income range, EIN, or NTEE code. To search the database, users must register for a free password.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.