Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.
Access Science
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes regular
encyclopedia articles, a science dictionary, and an "In the News" section,
as well as several features that cater to undergraduate students: basic tables,
study guides, and brief scientific biographies. AccessScience is based on the
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only on microfilm. Includes Godey's Lady's Book, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, and African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
ACM Digital Library
includes full text of all of the ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available in the library together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
ACS Legacy Archives
The ACS Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995. The Archives enables researchers to reach through history to understand the chain of discoveries that have led to modern chemistry and greatly influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics,
editorials and advertisements. Newspapers include the Freedom's Journal, The
Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman,
Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
AGRICOLA
This Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) database is
produced by the National Agricultural Library and indexes
agricultural publications of all kinds from 1970 on. Updated monthly,
AGRICOLA is the best source for U.S. government and state government
publications as well as state agricultural experiment station
publications. Early records may not have abstracts. It was preceded
by the Bibliography of Agriculture.
Agricultural Economics and Rural Studies (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
AGRIS
This United Nations database is produced by the Food and
Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural
publications from 1975 on. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more
narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is
free to all.
AIP Conference Proceedings
AIP Conference Proceedings report findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
This is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
Aluka
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Alukas partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.
As subscribers to the JSTOR Collections, UNH will receive free access to this collection until June 2008.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 The purchase of America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
As part of the most comprehensive digital archive of historical American newspapers available, this collection currently includes the following three series:
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876
Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900
Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922
America: History and Life
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage is from 1964 to the present from over 2,100 journals and is updated monthly. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.
American National Biography Mac Users - Use Safari or Firefox with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Please note that all the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.
Americans at War
This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.