ACS Legacy Archives
The ACS Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995. The Archives enables researchers to reach through history to understand the chain of discoveries that have led to modern chemistry and greatly influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics,
editorials and advertisements. Newspapers include the Freedom's Journal, The
Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman,
Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
Aluka
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Alukas partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.
As subscribers to the JSTOR Collections, UNH will receive free access to this collection until June 2008.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 The purchase of America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
As part of the most comprehensive digital archive of historical American newspapers available, this collection currently includes the following three series:
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876
Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900
Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922
Americans at War
This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
Ancestry Library
Online genealogical research database providing information on more than 1 billion names and 3000 databases. The database includes selected census records (notably the U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930), birth, marriage and death, military, probate, and immigration and naturalization records as well as some genealogical newspapers and periodicals. Also included are guides to starting genealogical research and how to gather and organize genealogical information to compile a family history.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences. Also included are teaching with CIAO case studies, original essays by leading scholars in the field that provide either a concise overview of an event or a concept that has important theoretical implications for the study of international relations.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This is a full-text, full-image collection of newspapers dating from 1860-1865
that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events
from the Civil War. They also include advertisements, news articles and
editorials.
Digital Sanborn Maps
Digital Sanborn Maps provides access to the Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire published between 1885 and 1943. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.
Digitized Primary American History Resources
This website provides links to primary sources of American history, including historic documents, digital collections from universities and archives, presidential papers, photograph collections and documents from all American conflicts from the French & Indian Wars to Desert Storm.
Early American Imprints (1639-1800) The Evans Digital Collection is funded through the support of the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, and the University of New Hampshire Library.
based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Evans Digital Edition is being released in monthly segments over a two-year period (beginning July 2002).
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 The purchase of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Early English Books The purchase of Early English Books Online was funded by the James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online [ECCO] The purchase of Eighteenth Century Collections Online was partially funded by:
based on the English Short Title Catalogue, this resource provides full-text access to 150,000 English and foreign-language works published in the United Kingdom during the Eighteenth Century. Included are thousands of important works produced in the Americas. There are multiple, full-text searching options to gain access to the 33 million pages of books, sermons, pamphlets and broadsides. This truly multidisciplinary resource includes works in: history; the social sciences; the fine arts; medicine; science and technology; religion and philosophy; law; and literature and languages.
Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800) The Evans Digital Collection is funded through the support of the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, and the University of New Hampshire Library.
based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Evans Digital Edition is being released in monthly segments over a two-year period (beginning July 2002).
Godey's Lady's Book
The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Ladys Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs.
In the First Person
In the First Person is a landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Working with archives, repositories, publishers, and individuals the creators have indexed first person narratives from hundreds of published volumesthose that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world.
Literature Online (LION)
A full-text resource for English and American literature. Provides access to primary sources (English and American poetry, fiction, and drama) and secondary sources (a literary journal index with full text, the Annual Bibliography of
English Language and Literature, Internet resource links for literature, biographical information, and more).
Making of America (Cornell)
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.
Making of America (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American
social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection
is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American
history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection
currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with
19th century imprints.
New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.
Sanborn Digital Maps
Sanborn Digital Maps provides access to the Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire published between 1885 and 1943. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Textual information on construction details (for example, steel beams or reinforced walls) is often given on the plans while shading indicates different building materials. Extensive information on building use is given, ranging from symbols for generic terms such as stable, garage, and warehouse to names of owners of factories and details on what was manufactured in them. In the case of large factories or commercial buildings, even individual rooms and the uses to which they were put are recorded on the maps. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.
Women Writers Online
A Brown University project to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible online.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.