Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.
AGRICOLA
This Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) database is
produced by the National Agricultural Library and indexes
agricultural publications of all kinds from 1970 on. Updated monthly,
AGRICOLA is the best source for U.S. government and state government
publications as well as state agricultural experiment station
publications. Early records may not have abstracts. It was preceded
by the Bibliography of Agriculture.
Agricultural Economics and Rural Studies (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
AGRIS
This United Nations database is produced by the Food and
Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural
publications from 1975 on. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more
narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is
free to all.
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
This is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
America: History and Life
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage is from 1964 to the present from over 2,100 journals and is updated monthly. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.
Analytical Abstracts
Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of
analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and
by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.).
Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with
full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.
Animal Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Anthropological Index of the RAI
Index to articles in anthropology held by the Museum of Mankind Library
(incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library) at the
British Museum.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles from over 550 periodicals, both trade and professional society
journals, in applied science and technology. Subject scope includes aeronautics;
applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial
intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food
science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and
several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil,
electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
This Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) database is
produced by CSA, NOAA, several UN agencies, and a number of regional
centers. The database indexes freshwater, estuarine, and marine
publications of all kinds from 1978 on. Updated monthly, ASFA is the
best source for literature on the aquatic environment and related
biological, oceanographic, policy, pollution, and aquaculture issues.
Indexing includes scientific names of organisms and geographic names.
ARIBIB Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References
Major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the
international research literature. Includes biographical and historical
references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals,
proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed
counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer
Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog
for information on print holdings).
Art Index
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Source
documents also include yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of art
works.
Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, provides a searchable index covering more than 55 years of art journalism from over 420 notable publications. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins and also includes publications in French, Italian, German, and Dutch.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
ASME digital library
Provides full text access to journals published by the ASME
Astrophysics Data System
NASA project, provides indexes to research publications in astronomy and
astrophysics/planetary sciences/solar physics; instrumentation; physics and
geophysics; and the Los Alamos preprint server. Sources include journals,
conference proceedings, NASA reports, and dissertations. Searching is by
author, object name (astronomy), title, words in the abstract, or journal
citation. Links to online abstracts and journal articles, and extensive set
of scanned journal and proceedings papers. Also provides access to NED
(NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database) and SIMBAD (Set of Identifications,
Measurements, and Bibliography for Astronomical Data). Other functions
include a table-of-contents service for over 20 journals, links to cited and
citing articles, and scanned copies of selected books and observatory reports.
Beilstein Crossfire
Major resource for research-level organic chemistry; started in 1771 as Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie. Beilstein includes data for over 8 million compounds and 5 million reactions, with citations to the primary literature. The powerful search interface allows data retrieval by structure, reaction attributes, properties, and keywords. Includes abstracts for journal articles from 1980 on. Requires special client software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.
Bibliography and Index of Micropaleontology
Cumulative index of worldwide current publications in all fields of micropaleontology (the study of microscopic fossils).
Bibliography of the History of Art
indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
Biological Abstracts
This database is produced by Biological
Abstracts (BIOSIS) Inc. and indexes articles in research journals
from 1985 on. Updated quarterly, Biological Abstracts covers about
5,200 sources of biological and biomedical literature in the broadest
sense. The long abstracts and indexing of scientific names and
systematic categories are important features. UNH's license limits
searching to a maximum of 10 concurrent users.
BioOne
This is a collection of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small scholarly societies. There are several journal collections included in the BioOne database, which are all searchable. UNH has full text access to BioOne.1 and Open Access titles. We do not have full text access to BioOne.2 or UniBio titles through this database.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 600 journals. Covers research, applications,
regulatory developments and new patents for all areas of biotechnology and
bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, and
environmental fields, and marine biology. Corresponds to the printed indexes:
Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts; ASFA Marine Biotechnology
Abstracts; Bioengineering Abstracts; Biotechnology Research Abstracts (archive);
Genetics Abstracts; Medical & Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts;
Microbiology Abstracts Section A: Industrial & Applied Microbiology (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on print holdings).
Business Source Corporate
This database combines information from over 2,500 full-text periodicals, a
directory covering over 3 million companies, over 60,000 hand-selected Web
links, and an image database of 10,000 images.
Business Source Premier
Comprehensive business periodical database that includes scholarly journals and
business periodicals. Covers management, economics, finance, accounting,
international business and more. Indexing and abstracts for over 2,680 business
journals and full text for over 2,300 journals.
CABDirect
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Caliber : journals of the University of California Press
Caliber is the online journals hosting service of University of California Press. Designed to meet the research needs of scholars, researchers, and students, Caliber holds the content for most journals published by UC Press.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service
The Internet Database Service provides access to online indexes covering major areas of research, including materials science, environmental sciences and pollution management, biological sciences, aquatic sciences and fisheries, biotechnology, engineering, computer science, sociology, and linguistics.
Chemoreception Abstracts
Index with abstracts for over 150 journals on chemoreception research and
applications. Covered areas include basic and applied research,
standardization and legislation, methods and instrumentation, patents, and
marketing. Corresponds to the printed Chemoreception Abstracts (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on holdings).
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines.
Offers access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference
proceedings, standards of practice, educational software in nursing,
audiovisuals, book chapters, and other publications. Updated weekly.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals in areas related to communication and mass media.
Compendex
Index to 2,600 journals, conferences, and reports, with comprehensive coverage
of engineering literature. Includes abstracts for 50% of entries. Offers
personalized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts.
Corresponds to the printed title Engineering Index, 1884-present (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on holdings).
Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.
Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in
statistics and related fields. The CIS Extended Database (CIS-ED) includes
coverage, in most cases from 1974 (or first issue if later) to the present from
106 "core journals" (and pre-1974 coverage for a number of them), selected
articles since 1974 from about 900 additional journals, and about 8,000 books in
statistics published since 1974. Each year, the Extended Database is updated
with an additional year of coverage.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.
Ecology and Environmental Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Econlit with Full Text
Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts and full text of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. While the question answer service will no longer be active, The Educator's Reference Desk provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.
Ei Compendex
Index to 2,600 journals, conferences, and reports, with comprehensive coverage
of engineering literature. Includes abstracts for 50% of entries. Offers
personalized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts.
Corresponds to the printed title Engineering Index, 1884-present (see UNH
Library Catalog for information on holdings).
Engineering Village 2
Web search interface for published engineering information, including searches
of Ei Compendex; engineering handbooks (not linked to data; use citation to
look up reference at Library); the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web site;
and TechStreet standards (not linked to full-text). Offers specialized options,
including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts for Ei Compendex.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database offers abstracts of articles spanning the
environmental sciences. Covers over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of
other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and
government publications. Individual subfiles (indexes) can be selected for more
precise results. Subjects covered include: agricultural and environmental
biotechnology, ecology, energy and water resources, environmental engineering,
environmental impact statements, pollution (air, land, water, noise), related
microbiology, risk and safety, toxicology, hazardous waste, and waste management.
Updated monthly.
ERIC on EBSCOhost (Educational Resources Information Center)
The U.S. Department of Educations Educational Resource Information Center
database. Contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and
education-related journals. Also contains full text of more than 2,200 digests
along with references for additional information. The University Library
subscribes to many of the journals cited by ERIC (EJ citations) and receives the
majority of ERIC documents (ED citations) on microfiche. Updated quarterly.
ERIC via Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. While the question answer service will no longer be active, The Educator's Reference Desk provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.
ETHXWeb
A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
Family Studies Abstracts
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Film & Television Literature Index
a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Film Literature Index 1976-2001
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
Genetics and Ethics Database
A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.
GeoRef
Comprehensive index to literature in geosciences, covering geology and related
fields such as geochemistry, geophysics and hydrology. Includes references to
articles, books, government publications, maps, reports, conference proceedings,
theses and dissertations. Worldwide coverage in many languages.
Gmelin Crossfire
Major resource for research-level inorganic and organometallic chemistry. The Gmelin Database and Handbook online includes literature citations and data for over 1.4 million compounds, searchable by structure, reaction attributes, properties and keywords. It corresponds to the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry (through 1975). Recently began including article abstracts. Requires special software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by
scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the
multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and
the humanities.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Database has searchable full text for nearly 160 journals; abstracts
and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health
care publications; thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems; over
1,000 health-related pamphlets; and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Consumer information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food
sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text
for nearly 160 journals including the British Medical Journal and The Lancet, as
well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition, and
professional health care publications.
Historical Abstracts
Index to journal articles, book and video reviews, and dissertations in
world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada,
which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes material from over
2,100 academic journals. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.
Human Health (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
ingenta (formerly UnCover)
UnCover is now part of ingenta's integrated services with free searching and browsing of more than 25,000 publications. The Browse Publications feature allows review of contents of individual issues. Searching is also available by keyword and author.
INIS Database
INIS provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. To do this, INIS processes most of the world´s scientific and technical literature that falls within its subject scope and maintains a database which currently contains over 2.5 million bibliographic references, making it the world´s most comprehensive information source on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology.
INSPEC
INSPEC, with over 7 million citations and abstracts, is the world's leading
resource for coverage of research literature in physics, including
astronomy and astrophysics. Its other subject strengths are electrical
engineering; control, and computing, including information technology.
International journals and conference proceedings are covered, with
selected indexing of books and reports. This resource allows searching by
specialized fields.
Inter-play: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
Contains approximately 19,000 citations to plays in English- and
foreign-language collections, anthologies, and periodicals published since
the late 19th century. Once a source title has been identified, search
the UNH Library catalog by the source title to check if the Library has
the collection, anthology or periodical. Separately published plays are
not included.
Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.
JSTOR Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into
six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins
with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed
period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current
year.
Leisure, Recreation and Tourism (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index to journal articles in disciplines covering all aspects of the study of
language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Complete coverage also given to various fields of linguistics including
descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Also covers communications disorders and special education. Updated monthly.
Literature Online (LION)
A full-text resource for English and American literature. Provides access to primary sources (English and American poetry, fiction, and drama) and secondary sources (a literary journal index with full text, the Annual Bibliography of
English Language and Literature, Internet resource links for literature, biographical information, and more).
MathSciNet
Comprehensive indexing with reviews of research articles on pure and applied
mathematics, including some statistics. Covers journals, conference proceedings,
and technical reports. May be searched by author, keyword, Mathematics Subject
Classification, subject, and source publication, among others. Corresponds to
printed Mathematical Reviews, 1940 - present, and Current Mathematical
Publications.
MEDLINE (through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Contains over 4 million citations and abstracts from worldwide biomedical
literature relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy
issues, and health care services.
MEDLINE (through EBSCOhost)
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary
medicine, the healthcare system, and pre-clinical sciences. Contains full-text
articles from nearly 90 leading medical journals. Includes the entire MEDLINE
collection, which provides abstracts from current biomedical journals, citations
from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature,
PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR. Updated monthly.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000
journals and series. Covers journal articles, books and book chapters, working
papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats.
Music Index Online
Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. This resource indexes international music periodicals for topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music, including book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Music Index online currently covers 1973 to the present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and
local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and
unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and
crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic
preparedness, and victims of crime.The Full Text link searches the NCJRS web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.
Oceanic Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting resource devoted to the international research
literature on marine and brackish-water environments, including journals,
conference proceedings, reports and government documents. Covers biological,
chemical, and physical oceanography; fisheries and aquaculture; marine ecology;
non-living marine resources; meteorology; marine geology, geochemistry, and
geophysics; navigation and shipping; plus environmental, technological, and
legislative topics. Corresponds to the printed resources Oceanic Abstracts,
1972-present, and Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts 2: Ocean Technology
Policy & Non-Living Resources, 1978-present (see UNH Library Catalog for print
holdings). Updated monthly.
OT Search
OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subjects, including rehabilitation, education, psychiatry, psychology, and health care administration. The database includes citations to journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, dissertations, and theses. OT 101 is no longer a working option. Please run all searches on OT Search.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the
social sciences in general. Journal articles, books, government documents,
statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of
public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of
printed literature from all over the world are indexed.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and
related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political
philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the
philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language
Plant Information Online
This University of Minnesota Library database indexes 1,000
nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines. PIO is the best way
to search for nursery sources of or magazine articles about specific
varieties of ornamental plants. The service was preceded by the
Andersen Horticultural Library's Source List. For Username and
Password: send email to dml2@cisunix.unh.edu.
Plant Sciences (CABDirect)
This Commonwealth Agricultural Bureax International (CABI)
database indexes agricultural and applied science publications of all
kinds from many countries from 1973 on. Updated weekly, CABDirect,
also available as CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, combines over 40
printed indexes, and covers agricultural subjects more broadly than
AGRICOLA. Subjects covered include environmental degradation and
bioremediation (E-CD), nutrition, tourism, and rural sociology.
Population Index
An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles,
working papers, and other materials on population topics.
Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library childrens rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
Project Muse
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and
mathematics.
PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books,
dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the
psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry,
nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics,
anthropology, business, and law. Weekly updates.
PubMed
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on.
Updated daily, PubMed (a version of MEDLINE) covers about 4,000
sources of biomedical literature in the broadest sense. The indexing
which uses standardized medical subject headings (MeSH) and
searchable lists of journal titles are important features.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) is a continuously updated bibliography of music literature that includes records in over 100 languages from 3,700 journals.
Risk Abstracts
Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Researchers involved in risk research studies, environmental science, engineering and design, or any type of industry will find in Risk Abstracts essential information that can help them identify, measure, evaluate, and manage risks of all kinds.
Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
SciFinder Scholar
The Web interface for the worlds foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexing and abstracting for the literature of pure and applied chemistry and related areas, broadly conceived; searchable by text, such as author and research topic, and by chemical structures and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings). Requires special software to search (see downloading instructions).
Social Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
Social Work Abstracts
Contains more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, drawn from over 1,640 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Major areas of coverage include community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, evaluation research, family and social welfare, policy, planning, forecast and speculation, health and medicine and law, religion and science, violence, power, and womens studies.
SPIN Web (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Provides searching and links to abstracts and articles in over 80 journals, mainly American, in physics and related fields. SPIN entries are concurrent with publication, so this is a current awareness resource as well as a retrospective index. SPIN is hosted on SPIN Web, which also permits browsing of the journals, includes links to American Institute of Physics member societies, and provides access to the AIP's Directory of Physics, Astronomy & Geophysics Staff (DPAGS). SPIN corresponds to the print Current Physics Index. Updated every two weeks.
SPORT Discus
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes over 1,200 international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC).
Toxicology Abstracts
Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances. Topics of current concern such as the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, and much more are extensively examined. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered.
Toxline
This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine
and indexes articles in medical research journals from 1966 on.
Updated quarterly, TOXLINE indexes about 4,000 sources of biomedical
literature that cover toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Part of TOXNET website.
UNH Publication Index
The UNH Publication Index includes citations to articles in University of New Hampshire newspapers and periodicals. Citations list article keywords, topic of article, title of article, date of publication, and serial title.
Violence & abuse abstracts
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Water Resources Abstracts
Contains abstracts of technical and scientific reports, books, proceedings,
journal articles, and government documents. Covers both groundwater and
surface water, and includes topics such as water supply and conservation,
water quality, erosion and sedimentation, hydraulics, and water laws. Pre-1994
coverage emphasizes the U.S. Access is through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
in the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management subfiles..
Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
This database indexes articles from
six international databases from 1935 on that cover wildlife and
wildlife management. Updated monthly, Wildlife Worldwide indexing
uses scientific names of reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.
The database is the best source for governmental publications,
especially state publications, concerning wildlife issues.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts merges two indexes, Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI and provides citations, abstracts, and
indexing of the journal literature of political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.