Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Total number: 11

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics, editorials and advertisements. Newspapers include the Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. As part of the most comprehensive digital archive of historical American newspapers available, this collection currently includes the following three series: Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900 Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922

The purchase of America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This is a full-text, full-image collection of newspapers dating from 1860-1865 that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War. They also include advertisements, news articles and editorials.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

The purchase of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:

EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include articles from international and national newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reporters. Reference databases provide a biographical dictionary, country and state profiles, quotations, polls and surveys, and a world almanac.

New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.

Newspaper Source
Contains full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times. Also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

UNH Publication Index
The UNH Publication Index includes citations to articles in University of New Hampshire newspapers and periodicals. Citations list article keywords, topic of article, title of article, date of publication, and serial title.

Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition Online
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal newspaper which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. Database content includes business and financial news and analysis, company news, regular columns and special reports, in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, company and personal profiles, and Reuters news stories. Updated daily.

World News Connection
Extensive database of translated and English-language news and information taken from the foreign media (newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classed technical reports) covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. ***Attention Mac users: Use Safari to access this database.***

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.