Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals and magazines. Over 3,700 journals are peer reviewed. For a small number of titles, full text articles from January of 1975 and indexing and abstracts from January of 1964 are included. Updated daily.
Access Science
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes regular
encyclopedia articles, a science dictionary, and an "In the News" section,
as well as several features that cater to undergraduate students: basic tables,
study guides, and brief scientific biographies. AccessScience is based on the
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only on microfilm. Includes Godey's Lady's Book, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, and African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.
ACM Digital Library
includes full text of all of the ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available in the library together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics,
editorials and advertisements. Newspapers include the Freedom's Journal, The
Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman,
Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.
AIP Conference Proceedings
AIP Conference Proceedings report findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.
Aluka
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Alukas partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.
As subscribers to the JSTOR Collections, UNH will receive free access to this collection until June 2008.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 The purchase of America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
As part of the most comprehensive digital archive of historical American newspapers available, this collection currently includes the following three series:
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876
Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900
Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922
America: History and Life
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage is from 1964 to the present from over 2,100 journals and is updated monthly. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.
Americans at War
This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
Ancestry Library
Online genealogical research database providing information on more than 1 billion names and 3000 databases. The database includes selected census records (notably the U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930), birth, marriage and death, military, probate, and immigration and naturalization records as well as some genealogical newspapers and periodicals. Also included are guides to starting genealogical research and how to gather and organize genealogical information to compile a family history.
Annual Reviews Online
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
AnnualReports.com
AnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports for many public companies. Visitors are able to look for a company through 5 search criteria: alphabetically, by company name, by ticker symbol, by sector, or by industry. Once a company is found, it can be viewed in either HTML or PDF format.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
ASME digital library
Provides full text access to journals published by the ASME
ASTM Standards
Complete Section 04: Construction. Only Active Standards in Section 4 are available online at UNH. All standards can be searched or browsed and full text of any number of Section 4 Active Standards may be viewed or downloaded. For historical and red-lined standards, titles may be viewed, but fulltext is not included in the UNH Library subscription. ASTM International publishes over 12,500 standards each year on materials, products, systems and services, contributed by over 30,000 qualified ASTM members. Standards are reviewed every five years but may be revised at any time.
All ASTM standards in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards are available in print at the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library in Kingsbury Hall. The call number is: Eng TA 401 .A653, with the latest set located in the reference section and the previous two years in the regular stacks. Please ask Engr/Math Library staff if you would like assistance in finding a standard.
Beilstein Crossfire
Major resource for research-level organic chemistry; started in 1771 as Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie. Beilstein includes data for over 8 million compounds and 5 million reactions, with citations to the primary literature. The powerful search interface allows data retrieval by structure, reaction attributes, properties, and keywords. Includes abstracts for journal articles from 1980 on. Requires special client software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.
Biography Resource Center
can be used to find past and present noteworthy figures for personal or general interest, or as a biographical starting point for in-depth research on a particular event, country or era. The database combines award-winning biographies with full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.
BioMedCentral Open Access
BioMedCentral is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
BioOne
This is a collection of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small scholarly societies. There are several journal collections included in the BioOne database, which are all searchable. UNH has full text access to BioOne.1 and Open Access titles. We do not have full text access to BioOne.2 or UniBio titles through this database.
Business Source Corporate
This database combines information from over 2,500 full-text periodicals, a
directory covering over 3 million companies, over 60,000 hand-selected Web
links, and an image database of 10,000 images.
Business Source Premier
Comprehensive business periodical database that includes scholarly journals and
business periodicals. Covers management, economics, finance, accounting,
international business and more. Indexing and abstracts for over 2,680 business
journals and full text for over 2,300 journals.
Caliber : journals of the University of California Press
Caliber is the online journals hosting service of University of California Press. Designed to meet the research needs of scholars, researchers, and students, Caliber holds the content for most journals published by UC Press.
Career Insider (powered by Vault)
Vault has been called "The best place on the Web to prepare for a job search." Vault is a great resource for insider company information, advice, and career management services. The site contains more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.
Choice Reviews Online
Choice Reviews Online is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences. Also included are teaching with CIAO case studies, original essays by leading scholars in the field that provide either a concise overview of an event or a concept that has important theoretical implications for the study of international relations.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This is a full-text, full-image collection of newspapers dating from 1860-1865
that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events
from the Civil War. They also include advertisements, news articles and
editorials.
Classification Web
World Wide Web access to Library of Congress
Classification and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Cochrane Collection - Cochrane Reviews and Protocols
Consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including full text articles reviewing the effects of healthcare, abstracts of systematic reviews from around the world, and a bibliography of controlled trials. The Cochrane Library provides high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
Cochrane Collection - Database of Abstracts and Reviews of Effects
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world, which have been critically analyzed according to a high standard of criteria. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.
Conference Board Research Collection
TCB research is a searchable Collection of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are
nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.
Congressional Universe
Provides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes indexing
of congressional publications and legislative histories for public laws from
1970 to the present. Also includes testimony from congressional hearings,
information about members of Congress and Congressional committees, and bill
tracking. Provides access to the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and
Code of Federal Regulations.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. At present, 102 countries and regions are covered. Notable omissions include Canada, the United States, France, the United Kingdom, and other Western nations, as well as a number of African nations.
CQ Researcher
Essential source on the most critical events and controversial subjects of the day. Each of the 44 weekly issues offers a balanced, in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic by a veteran journalist, pro and con arguments by experts, a chronology, and annotated bibliographies to guide additional research.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, reports, dissertations, unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology Online access to Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is partially funded by the Philip J. Sawyer Fund.
lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.
Davis - Bacon Wage Determination Decisions
Contains determinations made by the U.S. Department of Labor of the locally
prevailing wage and fringe benefit rates for construction-related occupations
in most U.S. counties. All federal construction contracts and most
federally-assisted construction over $2,000 must use these figures.
Digitized World History Sources
This website provides links to myriad primary sources of world history, searchable geographically, topically and chronologically. Also includes links to "landmark historic documents" as diverse as the Code of Hammurabi, the Magna Carta, the Manifesto of the Communist Party and the Koran.
Early American Imprints (1639-1800) The Evans Digital Collection is funded through the support of the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, and the University of New Hampshire Library.
based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Evans Digital Edition is being released in monthly segments over a two-year period (beginning July 2002).
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 The purchase of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 was partially funded by:
America's Historical Newspapers allows researchers to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Early English Books The purchase of Early English Books Online was funded by the James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
EBSCOhost
EBSCOHost is a World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.
Econlit with Full Text
Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts and full text of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com is an online resource for automotive information. Its comprehensive set of data, tools and services is generated by Edmunds.com Information Solutions. This site includes Edmunds most popular consumer product, Edmunds.com True Market Value® pricing, which provides market-reflective valuations for new and used vehicles.
eHRAF World Cultures
Full-text, fully-indexed cultural database, focusing on mostly pre-industrial
cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. Documents
(e.g. books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph-level
with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
Published annually. To view the eHRAF tutorial, click here.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online [ECCO] The purchase of Eighteenth Century Collections Online was partially funded by:
based on the English Short Title Catalogue, this resource provides full-text access to 150,000 English and foreign-language works published in the United Kingdom during the Eighteenth Century. Included are thousands of important works produced in the Americas. There are multiple, full-text searching options to gain access to the 33 million pages of books, sermons, pamphlets and broadsides. This truly multidisciplinary resource includes works in: history; the social sciences; the fine arts; medicine; science and technology; religion and philosophy; law; and literature and languages.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
EB Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet
directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated,
and reviewed by Britannica editors. Available are 72,000 encyclopedia articles,
10,000 illustrations, and 75,000 definitions.
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Authoritative, encyclopedic coverage of astronomy and astrophysics, appropriate for college to post-graduate level. Includes 2,500 articles by eminent scientists, with personalization options, current news updates, and links to selected Web sites.
ETDEWEB
ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. The collection includes over 3,109,800 bibliographic records and over 104,000 full text documents. Additional records may also have links to help users find the full text. ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information back to 1974 from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.
Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800) The Evans Digital Collection is funded through the support of the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, and the University of New Hampshire Library.
based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Evans Digital Edition is being released in monthly segments over a two-year period (beginning July 2002).
Facts on file world news digest
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Updated weekly.
Film Index International
An information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
FIS Online
See Mergent Online.
Geoscience World
A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from 30 high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.
Gmelin Crossfire
Major resource for research-level inorganic and organometallic chemistry. The Gmelin Database and Handbook online includes literature citations and data for over 1.4 million compounds, searchable by structure, reaction attributes, properties and keywords. It corresponds to the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry (through 1975). Recently began including article abstracts. Requires special software, Beilstein Commander, and Internet access. Computer workstations with Beilstein software are available at the Chemistry Library, or you may install the software on your lab or office computer. Click here for further information.
Godey's Lady's Book
The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Ladys Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs.
Grove Dictionary of Art
Web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant
additions and updates, 130,000 searchable images, and linked cross-references.
Grove Music Online
Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and an
ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world,
including sound archives and illustrations.
Guide to Law Online
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
Guidestar
a database of more than 850,000 U.S. charitable organizations providing information about the operations and finances of nonprofit organizations including the Form 990. The database can be searched by organization type, name, location, income range, EIN, or NTEE code. To search the database, users must register for a free password.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Database has searchable full text for nearly 160 journals; abstracts
and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health
care publications; thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems; over
1,000 health-related pamphlets; and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Consumer information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food
sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text
for nearly 160 journals including the British Medical Journal and The Lancet, as
well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition, and
professional health care publications.
Hearth
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.
Historical Abstracts
Index to journal articles, book and video reviews, and dissertations in
world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada,
which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes material from over
2,100 academic journals. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The HSDL is a program of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training.
Hospitality &Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 670,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 330 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. This comprehensive database combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell Universitys former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Infotrieve
provides email delivery of table of contents alerts. Users can register for an account and set up alerts from over 13,000 journals from all disciplines. Infotrieve also provides a document delivery service for articles not available in the UNH Libraries collections. The Articlefinder database provides access to over 30 million citations. Users can order articles and in some cases, receive desktop delivery via PDF. Articles not available electronically will be sent through the U.S. mail. For more information, please see our FAQ
International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies. IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.
Journal Citation Reports
provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.
JSTOR Online access to JSTOR is partially funded by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School.
An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals divided into
six categories: Arts and Sciences I - V, General Science Collection, Ecology and Botany Collection, Business Collection, Language & Literature, and Music Collection. The coverage of each journal begins
with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed
period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current
year.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Searchable full text of selected conference proceedings in the Lecture Notes in
Computer Science series. The full series is available in print (see UNH Library
Catalog for holdings).
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News
resources include articles from international and national newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reporters. Reference databases provide a biographical dictionary, country and state profiles, quotations, polls and surveys, and a world almanac.
LGBT Life
LGBT Life is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented.
Literature Criticism Online
represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Imagine centuries of analysis the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals delivered in an easy format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Literature Online (LION)
A full-text resource for English and American literature. Provides access to primary sources (English and American poetry, fiction, and drama) and secondary sources (a literary journal index with full text, the Annual Bibliography of
English Language and Literature, Internet resource links for literature, biographical information, and more).
Making of America (Cornell)
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.
Making of America (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American
social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection
is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American
history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection
currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with
19th century imprints.
Mergent Online
Mergent Online is an integration of various databases containing company information and documents. Moody's Industrial Manual and the EDGAR filings are included in this database along with Company Data Direct, both US and international. Mergent Online can create spreadsheet-ready financial formats and is updated continuously.
Music Index Online
Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. This resource indexes international music periodicals for topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music, including book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Music Index online currently covers 1973 to the present.
NACA Technical Reports Server (NACATRS)
NACA, the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, operated from 1917-1958, when it became NASA. The NACATRS offers searching, browsing, and full-text of NACA reports covering NACA-sponsored aeronautical research and research on related topics such as meteorological and atmospheric conditions.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) provides students, educators, and the public with access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. Almost a million references are indexed as of August, 2005. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. For NASA reports that are not fully available from NTRS, please check the UNH Library Catalog or contact the Library's Government Documents Department for information.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and
local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and
unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and
crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic
preparedness, and victims of crime.The Full Text link searches the NCJRS web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
NBER Working Papers
NBER Working Papers are the primary method for the distribution of research carried out by the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private, nonprofit, non-partisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
New York Times Digital Archive
provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions,click here.
Newspaper Source
Contains full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers,
6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los
Angeles Times. Also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical substances. Data provided are from collections maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. You may search by substance or property. Data that may be available for a substance include: thermochemistry and reaction thermochemistry, ion energetics; spectra: mass, UV, gas phase IR, vibrational and electronic; constants of diatomic molecules; Henry's Law data and thermophysical properties.
Nutrition Care Manual
The Nutrition Care Manual® provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.
O*Net Online
The Occupational Information Network provides information on occupational requirements such as knowledge, relevant education, job activities as well as the work context and conditions for more than 950 occupations. Links to national and state occupational outlook and wage information.
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Includes official United Nations documents exclusive of sales publications, press releases, treaties, and Department of Public Information brochures.
Open CRS: Congressional Research Reports for the People
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest.
Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan
and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
an online library of current event topics--the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. OVRC's unique features include Topic Overviews -- frameworks which allow students to explore each topic's many facets. The online version has the viewpoints articles along with statistics, websites and reference and magazine/newspaper articles.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in
1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes
1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.
PLANTS Database
provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Policy Archive
The Policy Archive is a searchable, open access archive of public policy research by a variety of national research organizations. Subjects include agriculture, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights, science and technology, trade, and much more.
Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library childrens rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.
PRISMA
PRISMA Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content.
Project Muse
Full text of over 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and
mathematics.
Prokaryotes
an evolving online-only multimedia encyclopedia of microbiology. Arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, the encyclopedia is being updated constantly. Topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and
biotechnology. The organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.
PsycArticles
database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycCritiques Mac Users - Use Safari or Firefox with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.
Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews previously published back to 1995. There are 3 ways to access information: (1) view the weekly releases; (2) browse by author/editor, book/film title, or publication year; (3) perform a standard database search.
Religious and theological abstracts
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Listing a wide variety of periodical literature,
including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Review of Particle Physics
updated every two years by members of the international Particle Data Group (PDG), RPP is a full review of current knowledge in particle physics. It includes data as well as well as textual information. Sections are: Summary Tables and Conservation Laws, including best values of measured properties of well-established particles; Reviews, Tables, Plots: covering the Standard Model, QCD, statistics, collider parameters, particle detectors, and cosmology; and Particle Listings, including evaluated data and brief reviews of aspects of many given particles.
Risk Abstracts
Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Researchers involved in risk research studies, environmental science, engineering and design, or any type of industry will find in Risk Abstracts essential information that can help them identify, measure, evaluate, and manage risks of all kinds.
Safari Books Online
provides access to the electronic versions of hundreds of technical books from the premier IT Publishers. The database content covers more than 20 categories, including Business Reference, Certification, Cisco, Creative Media, Database, Desktop Productivity, e-Business, Enterprise Computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Macintosh, .NET, Networking, Perl, Photoshop, Programming, Software Engineering, Web Administration, Web Authoring and Design, Web Development, Windows, Windows Administration, Windows Programming, and XML. The powerful Safari Tech Books Online search engine provides relevancy-ranked results for books and terms within the books; hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms; keywords in context in the hit-list; complete tables of contents and indexes for each book for easy page-to-page browsing; charts, graphs, and other graphics in full image, just as originally published; and cut-and-paste code segments to save time and eliminate typos.
Sage Premier
SAGE Premier provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999. SAGE Premier is available on SAGE Journals Online.
Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
ScienceDirect
The ScienceDirect service is a Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. To provide a starting point for the research process, and to expand the literature coverage beyond Elsevier Science journals, ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines making ScienceDirect one of the most comprehensive database of primary literature in the sciences available today.
UNH does not subscribe to all of the titles available in ScienceDirect.
Social Science Citation Index
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
SPIE Digital Library
This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings published since 1990 starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990.
Sports Business Research Network
SBRnet focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It provides updated resources featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, and sports marketing.
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
Industry Surveys provides in-depth financial and business analysis of 52 major U.S. industries, including information about recent developments with forecasts of industry conditions and emerging trends. Users can view tables, charts, and graphs of key industry conditions and statistics along with textual analysis and commentary. Historical data is archived for 3 years.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.
Stat-USA
Authoritative statistical information from more than 50 federal government agencies on the U.S. economy, country studies, international trade including trade opportunities, and procurement. Includes the National Trade Data Bank and Economic Bulletin Board.
Toxicology Abstracts
Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances. Topics of current concern such as the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, and much more are extensively examined. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Service)
The TRIS database focuses on transportation research and contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports,
conference proceedings, journal articles, and on-going research in the field of transportation: highways, transit, railroads, maritime, and aviation. All aspects of transportation research are covered including planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors, and operations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817 -
Historic maps pulled from the nearly 14,000 volumes that make up the U.S. Congressional Serials Set. As with other parts of the Serials Set, this page allows you to search for maps by location, subject, personal name, issuing agency, and date.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 The purchase of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 was partially funded by:
a comprehensive digital edition of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, which contains reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. This resource enables researchers to quickly and easily explore U.S. history and culture in unprecedented depth and detail.
Vault Online Career Library
Vault has been called "The best place on the Web to prepare for a job search." Vault is a great resource for insider company information, advice, and career management services. The site contains more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.
Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition Online
Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal newspaper which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. Database content includes business and financial news and analysis, company news, regular columns and special reports, in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, company and personal profiles, and Reuters news stories. Updated daily.
Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.
Westlaw Campus Due to contractional agreements, Westlaw Campus users only have the option to print directly from Case Databases, American Law Reports (ALR), and American Jurisprudence.
Westlaw Campus is an online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.
To access Westlaw, you may need to adjust your security settings. Some common solutions are below.
*Set Westlaw as a trusted site:
- Choose "Internet Options" from the Tools drop down menu on your browser toolbar.
- Click on the "Security" tab.
- Click on the "Trusted Sites" web content zone.
- Click on the "sites" button.
- If the box "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone" is checked, then type "https://*.westlaw.com" in "Add this web site to the zone" (If this box is not checked, type "westlaw.com" in "Add this web site to the zone")
*Set your internet security setting to medium (Tools, Internet Options, Security)
*Hold the "Shift" or "Ctrl" key when clicking to temporarily disable the pop-up blocker. (This control is generally located under Options).
Women Writers Online
A Brown University project to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible online.
World News Connection
Extensive database of translated and English-language news and information taken from the foreign media (newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classed technical reports) covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. ***Attention Mac users: Use Safari to access this database.***
Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.