Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Total number: 28

Access Science
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes regular encyclopedia articles, a science dictionary, and an "In the News" section, as well as several features that cater to undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. AccessScience is based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

American National Biography
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Please note that all the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.

Mac Users - Use Safari or Firefox with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Biography Resource Center
can be used to find past and present noteworthy figures for personal or general interest, or as a biographical starting point for in-depth research on a particular event, country or era. The database combines award-winning biographies with full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. With the Complete Marquis Who's Who(R), find quick reference information on an additional 900,000 people.

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

CREDO reference
Credo reference (formerly called xreferplus) is an online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.

A free browser plug-in is available that allows you to draw and upload graphical structure queries. Please click "Get the Plug-In" (on list to left of search screen) for instructions and download.

Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
EB Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Available are 72,000 encyclopedia articles, 10,000 illustrations, and 75,000 definitions.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Authoritative, encyclopedic coverage of astronomy and astrophysics, appropriate for college to post-graduate level. Includes 2,500 articles by eminent scientists, with personalization options, current news updates, and links to selected Web sites.

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Encyclopedia of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (English) Volumes I-XI and Supplement (Volume XII). Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
This resource provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States and includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all major areas, including social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology® is the World's first encyclopedia ever published in the field of nanotechnology. The 10-volume Encyclopedia is an unprecedented single reference source that provides ideal introduction and overview of most recent advances and emerging new aspects of nanotechnology spanning from science to engineering to medicine. It covers all aspects of nanoscale science and technology dealing with materials synthesis, processing, fabrication, probes, spectroscopy, physical properties, electronics, optics, mechanics, biotechnology, devices, etc.

Encyclopedia of Pest Management
The Encyclopedia of Pest Management is a key reference work for professionals in academia, industry and government, as well as students at all levels. This resource includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.

Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science
The Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science covers classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science, from the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science.

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
This encyclopedia presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science including polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. The resource is updated quarterly with new and substantially revised articles.

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Provides complete information on chemistry, analysis, and evaluation of soils and geography and focuses on agriculture development in the third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. Offers tools to restore and reinvigorate highly compromised soil! Includes detailed contributions from more than 400 esteemed international authorities across nearly 400 entries, plus over 1,000 illustrations

Grove Dictionary of Art
Web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions and updates, 130,000 searchable images, and linked cross-references.

Grove Music Online
Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world, including sound archives and illustrations.

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
This volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. The dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives ample attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with unusual care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

Harvard Dictionary of Music
The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. It includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

History of the American Cinema Vol.1-10
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them. .

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.

Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

xreferplus
xreferplus (now called CREDO reference) is an online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.