Skip to Content
databases

Back to Databases

Total number: 44

AGRICOLA
This Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) database is produced by the National Agricultural Library and indexes agricultural publications of all kinds from 1970 on. Updated monthly, AGRICOLA is the best source for U.S. government and state government publications as well as state agricultural experiment station publications. Early records may not have abstracts. It was preceded by the Bibliography of Agriculture.

Aluka
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. The Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka’s partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.

As subscribers to the JSTOR Collections, UNH will receive free access to this collection until June 2008.

America: History and Life
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage is from 1964 to the present from over 2,100 journals and is updated monthly. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.

Americans at War
This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.

ARIBIB Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References
Major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the international research literature. Includes biographical and historical references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals, proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog for information on print holdings).

Astrophysics Data System
NASA project, provides indexes to research publications in astronomy and astrophysics/planetary sciences/solar physics; instrumentation; physics and geophysics; and the Los Alamos preprint server. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and dissertations. Searching is by author, object name (astronomy), title, words in the abstract, or journal citation. Links to online abstracts and journal articles, and extensive set of scanned journal and proceedings papers. Also provides access to NED (NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database) and SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements, and Bibliography for Astronomical Data). Other functions include a table-of-contents service for over 20 journals, links to cited and citing articles, and scanned copies of selected books and observatory reports.

Bibliography of the History of Art
indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. This extensive and comprehensive index covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

Books in Print
Citations for over 3.5 million books currently in print with more than 600,000 full-text reviews from 11 leading sources. It also includes video and audio listings, as well as out-of-print titles, titles by award, best-sellers, biographies, and publisher directory information.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The online edition of the Chicago Manual of Style includes the fully-searchable text of the 15th edition with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, a feature popular with copy editors and grammar aficionados, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions.

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences. Also included are teaching with CIAO case studies, original essays by leading scholars in the field that provide either a concise overview of an event or a concept that has important theoretical implications for the study of international relations.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines. Offers access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software in nursing, audiovisuals, book chapters, and other publications. Updated weekly.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. The CIS Extended Database (CIS-ED) includes coverage, in most cases from 1974 (or first issue if later) to the present from 106 "core journals" (and pre-1974 coverage for a number of them), selected articles since 1974 from about 900 additional journals, and about 8,000 books in statistics published since 1974. Each year, the Extended Database is updated with an additional year of coverage.

Dissertation Abstracts International (Digital Dissertations)
The online version of Dissertation Abstracts includes citations back to 1861, abstracts back to 1980 and 24-page previews for all dissertations after 1997. Best of all, Digital Dissertations includes the full-text of all Univ. of New Hampshire dissertations from 1997 onward, as well as full-text of all UNH Masters Theses from 2006 onward.

Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. While the question answer service will no longer be active, The Educator's Reference Desk provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.

English Short Title Catalogue
The English Short Title Catalogue provides descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language—as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database offers abstracts of articles spanning the environmental sciences. Covers over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Individual subfiles (indexes) can be selected for more precise results. Subjects covered include: agricultural and environmental biotechnology, ecology, energy and water resources, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, pollution (air, land, water, noise), related microbiology, risk and safety, toxicology, hazardous waste, and waste management. Updated monthly.

ERIC on EBSCOhost (Educational Resources Information Center)
The U.S. Department of Education’s Educational Resource Information Center database. Contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. Also contains full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information. The University Library subscribes to many of the journals cited by ERIC (EJ citations) and receives the majority of ERIC documents (ED citations) on microfiche. Updated quarterly.

ERIC via Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses. While the question answer service will no longer be active, The Educator's Reference Desk provides a search interface to the ERIC Database, providing access to over one million bibliographic records on educational research, theory, and practice.

GeoRef
Comprehensive index to literature in geosciences, covering geology and related fields such as geochemistry, geophysics and hydrology. Includes references to articles, books, government publications, maps, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. Worldwide coverage in many languages.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Hearth
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.

Hengwrt Chaucer Digital Facsimile
The Hengwrt Chaucer, (National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth, MS. Peniarth 392 D, hereafter Hg), is believed to be the earliest extant copy of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales and has usually been dated soon after Chaucer’s death in 1400.

Historical Abstracts
Index to journal articles, book and video reviews, and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes material from over 2,100 academic journals. Links provided to full text articles provided by JSTOR and the History Cooperative.

Making of America (Cornell)
Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.

Making of America (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Marcive WebDocs Catalog
Most comprehensive index to U.S. government documents published since 1976. It is a privately-produced equivalent to the government's Monthly Catalog.

MathSciNet
Comprehensive indexing with reviews of research articles on pure and applied mathematics, including some statistics. Covers journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. May be searched by author, keyword, Mathematics Subject Classification, subject, and source publication, among others. Corresponds to printed Mathematical Reviews, 1940 - present, and Current Mathematical Publications.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. Covers journal articles, books and book chapters, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, dissertations, and other formats.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.

Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.

Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language

Population Index
An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

Psychologists And Their Theories For Students
This resource provides coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay provides an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, from behaviorism to Gestalt theory, introducing the basic history of the field. Detailed entries follow, explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.

PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Weekly updates.

Safari Books Online
provides access to the electronic versions of hundreds of technical books from the premier IT Publishers. The database content covers more than 20 categories, including Business Reference, Certification, Cisco, Creative Media, Database, Desktop Productivity, e-Business, Enterprise Computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Macintosh, .NET, Networking, Perl, Photoshop, Programming, Software Engineering, Web Administration, Web Authoring and Design, Web Development, Windows, Windows Administration, Windows Programming, and XML. The powerful Safari Tech Books Online search engine provides relevancy-ranked results for books and terms within the books; hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms; keywords in context in the hit-list; complete tables of contents and indexes for each book for easy page-to-page browsing; charts, graphs, and other graphics in full image, just as originally published; and cut-and-paste code segments to save time and eliminate typos.

SciFinder Scholar
The Web interface for the world’s foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexing and abstracting for the literature of pure and applied chemistry and related areas, broadly conceived; searchable by text, such as author and research topic, and by chemical structures and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings). Requires special software to search (see downloading instructions).

Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.

Sociological Abstracts
Indexes research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, drawn from over 1,640 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Major areas of coverage include community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, evaluation research, family and social welfare, policy, planning, forecast and speculation, health and medicine and law, religion and science, violence, power, and women’s studies.

Water Resources Abstracts
Contains abstracts of technical and scientific reports, books, proceedings, journal articles, and government documents. Covers both groundwater and surface water, and includes topics such as water supply and conservation, water quality, erosion and sedimentation, hydraulics, and water laws. Pre-1994 coverage emphasizes the U.S. Access is through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts in the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management subfiles..

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
This database indexes articles from six international databases from 1935 on that cover wildlife and wildlife management. Updated monthly, Wildlife Worldwide indexing uses scientific names of reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. The database is the best source for governmental publications, especially state publications, concerning wildlife issues.

WorldCat
Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.

xreferplus
xreferplus (now called CREDO reference) is an online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Some on-campus users connected to the wireless network
are currently having problems accessing certain databases.
Read about the workaround.