Skip to Content
Databases

Beilstein Information Systems databases:

The UNH Library has a campus-wide site license for the CrossFire Beilstein and Gmelin databases, and for Autonom 2000 software. These are of special interest to chemists and biochemists. Use of these databases is restricted to UNH faculty, staff, and students. These databases are limited to on-campus use.

Beilstein Commander is the client software that is needed to interface with these three resources. It is available for use at public computers in the Chemistry Library. You may also install it yourself. In order to use it on an office or laboratory computer on campus, please follow the instructions below under "Download and Installation."

Database Content | Download and installation | Help and Documentation | Questions?

Database content

CrossFire Beilstein: Premier resource for research-level organic chemistry; began in 1771 as Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie. Includes data for over 8 million compounds and 9 million reactions, with 2 million citations to the primary literature. The powerful search interface allows data retrieval by structure, reaction attributes, properties, and keywords. Includes abstracts for journal articles from 1980 on.

CrossFire Gmelin: Major resource for research-level inorganic and organometallic chemistry. The database contains 1.6 million compounds, 1.3 million structures, 1.3 million reactions, and 900,000 citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995. The data are indexed from 62 journals. Gmelin is fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions. You can search by more than 800 chemical and physical data fields, including structure, reaction attributes, keywords, physical and chemical properties, and crystal and physiological data. CrossFire Gmelin corresponds to the well-known Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and covers 1772 to present.

Autonom: Autonom software generates an IUPAC name from a chemical structure drawing. Beilstein Commander includes Autonom Standard, which is limited in scope. You can also borrow the full program, Autonom 2000, from the Chemistry Library and install it on your on-campus computer. See below for details.

Download and installation

  1. Download Beilstein Commander:
    Windows version, Commander 7, SP 2 (Wisconsin site)
    Mac version, Commander 6, SP 1.1 (Wisconsin site)
    Note: MDL no longer develops Commander for the Macintosh platform. To date, Commander 6 for Macintosh is still being supported by MDL.

    Alternate download site (may require registration)

  2. Install and configure the client.
    Info you'll need:
    The host IP address for the Crossfire Server is beilstein.library.wisc.edu
    The workstation ID can be anything you like
    Our group name is uni-hamp

    There are helpful installation notes for current Commander versions at the Wisconsin server.

  3. Start up the software. Choose a database to begin searching, or you may draw a structure first. Autonom is separately listed on the upper buttons.
    Info you'll need:
    User ID is uni-hamp
    Password is m328fd
  4. Autonom software generates an IUPAC name from a chemical structure drawing. Beilstein Commander includes Autonom Standard, which is a free, but limited version. The full program, Autonom 2000, requires separate installation. To install Autonom 2000 on your lab or office computer, borrow the CD and User Guide at the Chemistry Library and follow the installation notes. You can then use the Autonom icon on Beilstein Commander to start Autonom 2000.

Help and Documentation

Detailed database explanations and context-sensitive search help are available within Beilstein Commander. Further information on the CrossFire Beilstein and CrossFire Gmelin databases, including basics, database structure, and journals covered, is available from MDL:

Questions?

For technical issues, call the Library Systems Office at 862-0170. For search assistance, please contact Bob Constantine (862-1083 or rjc3@cisunix.unh.edu) or Emily Poworoznek (862-4168 or el@cisunix.unh.edu).

Database Content | Download and installation | Help and Documentation | Questions?