databases

Your feedback needed for journal cancellations in 2012

August 30, 2012

In the past years, the UNH library acquisition budget increases have not kept up with inflation. In order to cover inflationary increases and balance the budget for FY 13, we need to make cuts to our journal subscriptions.

During the summer we worked with academic departments to identify titles for cancellation. The selections were made by looking at cost and usage data with a goal of keeping as much valued content available as possible and minimizing negative impact on our users, while still achieving our budget reduction targets.

See the list of possible cancellations, FAQs, and more.

Send feedback to jennifer.carroll@unh.edu or use her contact form if you have comments, questions, or concerns. We will seriously consider all feedback received and use it to help make the best decisions possible. The deadline for feedback is September 7.

New databases: biographies of scientists and writers

August 23, 2012

We present two new databases:

American Men and Women of Science, 22nd ed. (2005), is a premier biographical reference on North American scientists.

Gale Literature Resource Center is built on three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 130,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 13,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars.

As always, if these databases are useful for your research, please leave a comment here or contact our electronic resources librarian.

UNH Alumni now have access to EBSCOhost

August 17, 2012

The UNH Alumni Association has announced that alumni now have access to the online research database EBSCOhost. For more, see the Alumni Association site.

Alums will need to register at the UNH Alumni web site. Verification typically takes a day. The database is also accessed from the Alumni web site.

UNH alumni are also entitled to a UNH library borrowing card. Just bring a photo ID and something with your current address, like a license or bill, to the Circulation Desk in Dimond Library or the UNH Manchester Library.

New database trial for Scopus; possible replacement for Web of Science

August 2, 2012

The Library has a new trial for Scopus which runs for the month of August. We are considering Scopus as a possible replacement for Web of Science.

We will also be hosting a tutorial/Q&A session with Elsevier halfway through the trial. If you would like to attend this session or have questions or comments, please contact our electronic resources librarian.

Update: The demonstration of Scopus and Q&A session will be held Friday, August 17th at 1pm in Dimond Library Room 343.

Women's History Month: Movies available at the UNH Library

March 21, 2012

March is Women's History Month. Check out the movies available for circulation at the UNH-Library that highlight the diverse experience of women in history around the world. Our collection includes films about suffragists, whistleblowers, politicians, artists, athletes and more.

Affaire de Femmes
Babettes Gæstebud
Born into Brothels
China Blue
Chisholm '72 : Unbought & Unbossed
La Ciociara
Dayereh
Cruel and Unusual
Education of Shelby Knox
Elizabeth
Erin Brockovich
The Great Step Forward
Hammering it Out: Women in the Construction Zone
Iron Jawed Angels
Joy Luck Club
A League of Their Own
Lion in Winter
Magdalene Sisters
A Midwife's Tale
Not For Ourselves Alone
Pray the Devil Back to Hell
Rosa Parks Story
Say My Name
Senorita Extraviada: Missing Young Woman
Sex in Africa
Standing on My Sisters' Shoulders
They Call Me Muslim

Alexander Street Press: American History in Video and Alexander Street Anthropology: Ethnographic Video Online also have a number of movies related to Women's History Month. These on-line resources are available to UNH Faculty, Staff and Students as well as on-site visitors.

At Highest Risk: Maternal Health Care in the High Peruvian Andes
Boran Women
Eleanor Roosevelt: A Restless Spirit
Fit Surroundings
Kamala and Raji
Margaret Mead: A Portrait by a Friend
Miyah: The Life of a Javanese Woman
Mrs. Clare Boothe Luce
Not For Ourselves Alone: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. Anthony
One Woman, One Vote
Through the Negev
Town Bloody Hall
(Un)veiled: Muslim Women Talk About Hijab
A Week Of Sweet Water

Subscribe to RSS - databases