Databases

New database trial: DynaMed Plus

Posted November 17, 2016

The Library is currently subscribed to a new database trial: DynaMed Plus.

DynaMed Plus is the clinical reference tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

As always, if this database is useful for your research, contact our electronic resources librarian.

Category: 

New Databases: Statista and Morningstar

Posted October 10, 2016

The Library has two new databases available:

Statista: The Statistics Portal
A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and additional areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
A comprehensive stock database that includes financial data on companies traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ®, and the American Stock Exchange; in-depth research reports on companies; data on mutual, closed-end, and exchange-traded funds; analysts' reports on funds; exclusive investment tools and engaging educational features, including interactive training on basic and advanced stock, fund, and portfolio techniques.

Category: 

New database trial: World Religion Database

Posted September 29, 2016

The Library is currently subscribed to a new database trial: World Religion Database.

The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050.

As always, if this database is useful for your research, please leave a comment here or contact our electronic resources librarian.

Category: 

New database trial: Symptom Media: Mental Health Education & Training Film Library

Posted September 27, 2016

The Library is currently subscribed to a new database trial: Symptom Media: Mental Health Education & Training Film Library.

Symptom Media is an online mental health education and training film library of mental health simulations providing viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. The films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decreases the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

As always, if this database is useful for your research, please leave a comment here or contact our electronic resources librarian.

Category: 

Multimedia Display: Music for Studying

Posted September 21, 2016

To highlight our large music collection, the Library Multimedia Room presents Music for Studying. This display features mostly classical and instrumental music that provide a calm study environment.

The display includes:

and many more from Mozart, Bach, Brahms, Pachelbel, and others.

UNH professors gave their own recommendations for what students might listen to while studying:

Our student workers also contributed their favorite CDs for studying, which adds some modern music to the collection.

Also check out the online classical music database, the Classical Music Library, or one of the many more music databases available to UNH students, faculty, and staff!

This display will be open until mid-October, so make sure to stop by when studying for classes!

New database trial: SIPRI Yearbook Online

Posted September 6, 2016

The Library is currently subscribed to a new database trial: SIPRI Yearbook Online.

The Stockholm International Peace Research Institute is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. SIPRI Yearbook Online provides access to the SIPRI yearbooks.

As always, if this database is useful for your research, please leave a comment here or contact our electronic resources librarian.

Category: 

New Databases Added Over the Summer

Posted August 31, 2016

We've added new databases over the summer! See what's new:

Thomson Databases

Biosis Citation Index
Unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing.

Data Citation Index
Connects digital research to powerful new discovery tools, giving researchers the ability to quickly and easily identify and access the most relevant digital research.

Derwent Innovation Index
Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index.

Book Citation Index (Science Edition)
Access the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly and scientific research. This index allows you to measure the contribution of books in specific disciplines and identify potential collaborators.

Zoological Record Current and Archive
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.

Current Chemical Reactions
Current Chemical Reactions delivers the latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams,critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.

Index Chemicus
Covering more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals, Index Chemicus is text- and substructure-searchable, and offers full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index Science
Access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide in the sciences.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index Social Science & Humanities Edn.
Access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide in the social sciences and humanities.

Additional Databases

Kanopy Streaming Service
12,473 streaming titles are available. Partners with some of the world’s most creative filmmakers and respected distributors, offering tertiary institutions access to an ever-growing library of videos across diverse content areas like architecture, teacher education, health and safety, culture and politics in media, health studies and more.

Colonial America Modules 1-5
Consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.

Colonial America will be released in five modules, organized thematically:

  • Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries (2015)
  • Module 2: Towards Revolution (2016)
  • Module 3: The American Revolution (scheduled 2017)
  • Module 4: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies (scheduled 2018)
  • Module 5: Growth, Trade and Development (scheduled 2019)

Shakespeare in Performance
Showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theaters throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

Springer Journal Archive Online
Access to all Springer journal backfiles from their first issue to 1996.

Category: 

Kevin Gardner and Eleta Exline discuss Elements research tool

Posted March 28, 2016

UNH IT's newsletter Signals sat down with Kevin Gardner and Eleta Exline to discuss a software called Elements, a research information system. In this interview, Kevin and Eleta talk about the problem of getting researcher information, like publications or grants. Elements is a software that can help solve this problem by creating Researcher Profiles which will organize all of this information in one place, allowing easier access for the public as well as for the researchers themselves. Many other universities are beginning to use this software and it saves researchers time by searching databases for their publications, allowing them to build their profile easily, and keeps all of their research in one place.

You can listen to or read the entire interview.

Category: 

Multimedia Display: Election Movies

Posted February 3, 2016

We've pulled together a display of presidential election related movies in the UNH Library Multimedia Center in Dimond Library. The selection of movies highlight many aspects of elections over many years.

Through our online database American History in Video there are a number of newsreels, documentaries, and interviews available related to presidential elections as well.

New database trial: PsycTESTS

Posted January 11, 2016

The Library is currently subscribed to a new database trial: PsycTESTS

PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Please note that not all tests are full-text.

As always, if this database is useful for your research, please leave a comment here or contact our electronic resources librarian.

Category: