Primary Sources

Dates of coverage: 1879-1995
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Full text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). The Archives enables researchers to understand historical discoveries that led to modern chemistry and influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.

Dates of coverage: 1827-1870
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics, editorials and advertisements. Includes Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. Includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.

Dates of coverage: 1690 - 1922
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service, President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

Comprehensive digital archive that includes titles from all 50 states. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Dates of coverage: 1680 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Genealogical research database providing information on more than 1 billion names and 3000 databases. Includes selected census records, birth, marriage and death, military, probate, and immigration and naturalization records as well as some genealogical newspapers and periodicals. Also included are guides to starting genealogical research and compiling a family history.

Dates of coverage: 1718 - 1876
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Featuring more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Useful for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources, Theses & Dissertations

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.

Dates of coverage: 1860-1865
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

A full-text, full-image collection of newspapers that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War, advertisements, news articles and editorials.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of the Western Hemisphere, but covers other areas. Features innovative interfaces for searching by area and time range.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

Offers a single point of access to millions of freely available digitized items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, maps, and more—from America’s libraries, archives, and museums. In addition to a standard search engine, the portal provides searching and access by timeline, map, format, or topic.

Dates of coverage: 1700s - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

Provides links to primary sources of American history, including historic documents, digital collections from universities and archives, presidential papers, photograph collections and documents from all American conflicts from the French & Indian Wars to Desert Storm.

Dates of coverage: 1639-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, the University of New Hampshire Library.

Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Dates of coverage: 1801-1819
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the University of New Hampshire Library

With this series, research westward expansion, the development of American arts, the progression of American political thought and much more. In addition to books, broadsides and pamphlets, the collection includes published reports and the works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Additionally, a large number of state papers and early government materials chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation.

Dates of coverage: 1690-1922
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service,President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

Digital archive that includes over 1,000 titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Dates of coverage: 1473-1700
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks, Primary Sources
Funded by: the James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Dates of coverage: 1701-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources
Funded by: James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund, Edmund G. Miller Library Fund, Gladys Brooks Fund for Books and Periodicals in the Humanities, Dunleavy Library Fund, Lucille Wengler Wheeler History Book Fund

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, this resource provides full-text access to 150,000 English and foreign-language works published in the United Kingdom during the Eighteenth Century. Included are thousands of important works produced in the Americas. There are multiple, full-text searching options to gain access to the 33 million pages of books, sermons, pamphlets and broadsides. This truly multidisciplinary resource includes works in: history; the social sciences; the fine arts; medicine; science and technology; religion and philosophy; law; and literature and languages.

Dates of coverage: 1473-1800
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Provides descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language--as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs.

Dates of coverage: 1920s to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. Covers every world region and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1639-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, the University of New Hampshire Library.
Dates of coverage: 1861 - 1977/1980
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information, Primary Sources

Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The United States Department of State Office of the Historian offers online index searching for documents by keyword as well as limited full-text searching through the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Dates of coverage: 1830-1865; Parts I-III
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Lady's Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs.

Dates of coverage: Varies by dataset
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

The state GIS clearinghouse for geospatial data produced by state and federal agencies and other organizations. Requires specialized software for use of datasets. Use of data requires agreement to disclaimer

Dates of coverage: 1850-1925
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections, Primary Sources

A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.

Dates of coverage: 1400
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Believed to be the earliest extant copy of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales and dates from soon after Chaucer's death in 1400.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Index to English-language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories by more than 18,000 individuals. Full text or descriptive records are included.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

A full-text resource of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from the Anglo-Saxon period to the present. Contains more than 350 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Provides access to both primary and secondary sources.

Dates of coverage: 1840-1900
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.

Dates of coverage: 1800-1925
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Dates of coverage: 1851-2009 (Index 1851-1993)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Searchable digital reproductions of every page of every issue including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, and advertisements. For printing instructions, click here.

Dates of coverage: Colonial - 1950
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, which can be browsed or searched in depth.

Dates of coverage: Varies by Title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Portal to key historical map collections including British Library, Harvard University, New York Public Library and many others. Use for a broad search for historical maps.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

First place to look for contemporary or recent U.S. and non-U.S. maps. World-wide coverage, arranged geographically. Notable for CIA maps and topographic maps of non-U.S. locations.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Dates of coverage: 1789 to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Provides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes indexing of congressional publications and legislative histories for public laws from 1970 to the present. Also includes testimony from congressional hearings, information about members of Congress and Congressional committees, and bill tracking.

Dates of coverage: 1885-1943
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire are valuable historical documents depicting the development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They show outlines of individual buildings, their use and physical characteristics.

Dates of coverage: 1801-1819
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the University of New Hampshire Library
Dates of coverage: 1817-1980
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Historic maps from over 14,000 volumes of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Search for maps by location, subject, personal name, issuing agency, and date. Use to find maps published by many Federal agencies on a wide variety of topics. The searching feature in the Search Hints section gives detailed screen shots of each type of search. Serial Set maps FAQ

Dates of coverage: 1400 - 1850
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Brown University Women Writers Project. It includes full transcriptions of more than 320 texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.