Maps & Geospatial Data

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of the Western Hemisphere, but covers other areas. Features innovative interfaces for searching by area and time range.

Dates of coverage: Varies by dataset
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

The state GIS clearinghouse for geospatial data produced by state and federal agencies and other organizations. Requires specialized software for use of datasets. Use of data requires agreement to disclaimer

Dates of coverage: Varies by map
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data

Provides access to maps and other spatially referenced data for geology, geophysics, marine geology, earth resources, hazards, geochemistry, geochronology, and paleontology. Includes links to other sources of topographic and related maps, other earth science databases, and additional Web resources related to geology.

Dates of coverage: Varies by Title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Portal to key historical map collections including British Library, Harvard University, New York Public Library and many others. Use for a broad search for historical maps.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

First place to look for contemporary or recent U.S. and non-U.S. maps. World-wide coverage, arranged geographically. Notable for CIA maps and topographic maps of non-U.S. locations.

Dates of coverage: Trial Runs Until Oct. 31, 2014
Access: Trial
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data

PolicyMap is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. Included in the tool is access to PolicyMap’s extensive data collection, with 15,000+ indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available in PolicyMap.

Dates of coverage: 1885-1943
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire are valuable historical documents depicting the development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They show outlines of individual buildings, their use and physical characteristics.

Dates of coverage: 1817-1980
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Historic maps from over 14,000 volumes of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Search for maps by location, subject, personal name, issuing agency, and date. Use to find maps published by many Federal agencies on a wide variety of topics. The searching feature in the Search Hints section gives detailed screen shots of each type of search. Serial Set maps FAQ