Government Information

US Federal

Dates of coverage: 1789 - 1838
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

Contains the legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses (about 6,300 documents). Arranged in ten subject such as Foreign Relations and Military Affairs and with full-text search capability, this is a rich resource in primary documents on wide-ranging aspects of early American history.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

Comprehensive access to US legislative information. Includes indexing of publications such as the Congressional Record and hearings, bills and laws, legislative histories (for public laws from 1970+), regulations and political news. Also includes information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.

Please note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication; earliest is 1781
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Business, Economics, and Finance

Digital access to historic policy documents and data related to U.S. economic history and financial system, including the history of the Federal Reserve System.

Dates of coverage: 1861 - 1977/1980
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Primary Sources

Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The United States Department of State Office of the Historian offers online index searching for documents by keyword as well as limited full-text searching through the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Dates of coverage: Varies by data series
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information, US Federal, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource contains a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The resource will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Note: To use the custom tables, users must register for an account. To register, click on the register link in the upper right corner of the page and complete the form.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

An open-source collection of over 107,800 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Technical Reports

NSCEP is the site for a wide variety of free EPA print and digital documents, including everything from pamphlets to research reports. For a narrower search of EPA-supported research, go to our database entry for the EPA Science Inventory.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime.

Dates of coverage: 1990s - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.

Please note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Dates of coverage: 1817-1994, 15th-103rd Congress
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service, President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

A comprehensive digital edition of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, containing reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. This resource enables researchers to explore U.S. history and culture in unprecedented depth and detail.

Dates of coverage: 1994 - varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

FDsys (Federal Digital System) searches official U. S. Government publications from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. Search for documents, access their metadata, and download in multiple formats.

Dates of coverage: 1976 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

MarciveWeb DOCS Catalog indexes U. S. government documents. It corresponds to the official government index, the Monthly Catalog and the Catalog of U. S. Government Publications. Searches are offered in a variety of categories. Availability of documents at local U. S. depository libraries is a key feature.

International and Foreign

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, International and Foreign

Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, featuring its books, papers and statistics, and gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

Dates of coverage: 1914 but varies by series
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: International and Foreign, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The official source for Canadian social and economic statistics offers searching of CANSIM, the key socioeconomic database, updated daily. Data on Canada’s census, government, trade, cultural resources, and other statistical programs is available.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present, with older documents being added
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: International and Foreign

Includes official UN documents exclusive of sales publications, press releases, treaties, and Department of Public Information brochures. Also includes resolutions from various UN bodies from 1947- present. Searching is available in the official UN languages of Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

Dates of coverage: 1960 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: International and Foreign, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources for more than 180 countries. Other databases provide information on external debt and financial flow data, governance issues, education, health, gender, and more. These can search in several languages.

State and Regional

Dates of coverage: 2005 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: State and Regional

Access to full-text of official New Hampshire electronic-only publications from all state executive agencies such as Agriculture, Transportation and Office of the Governor as well as some legislative and judicial agencies. This database is updated monthly.