Encyclopedias

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. Mac Users - Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Dates of coverage: 22nd ed. (2005) - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1600s - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Profiles of more than 18,700 deceased men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the US. Search or browse by name or use Advanced Search (Search tab) to find people by occupation/realm of renown, gender, birth and/or death date, birthplace, and more.

All the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Explains how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. This encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1600's - 1990
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Interpretative biographical articles on deceased (prior to 1991) people from every social group and sphere of endeavor who have made a significant contribution to the Australian nation. Entries range from 500 to 6,000 words.

Entries are currently being selected for people who died in 1991-2000.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually. Content includes reference material, magazines, audio and video content, images, and links to screened, reliable websites. Can browse or search by name, occupation, nationality, etc. or by multiple criteria in Advanced Search.

Dates of coverage: second millennium BC to early medieval
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A reference work for the ancient world. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Enriches the information from the encyclopedia with its exhaustive lists of names, dates and facts about the people who shaped the ancient world. Volume 1 : Chronologies of the Ancient World - Names, Dates and Dynasties; Volume 2 : Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts; Volume 3 : Historical Atlas of the Ancient World; Volume 4 : The Reception of Myth and Mythology.

Dates of coverage: Classical Antiquity - Present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Dictionaries, Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Collection of culturally informed essays on body parts provides context and weight to the pop culture and media focus on the body beautiful.

Dates of coverage: 2004 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias
Funded by: the Philip J. Sawyer Fund

Lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Dates of coverage: 4th Century BC - 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Offers a variety of browse and search options as well as themes (reference groups, reference lists, and feature essays on topical anniversaries.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic Edition combines the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. More than 600 maps, charts, tables, photographs, illustrations and other visuals concisely illustrate key textual elements, and among other features making this scholarly work accessible, are entry-specific bibliographies to help guide further research.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives.

Dates of coverage: 2000, plus updates
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Authoritative, encyclopedic coverage of astronomy and astrophysics, appropriate for college to post-graduate level. Includes 2,500 articles by eminent scientists, with personalization options, current news updates, and links to selected Web sites.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed., 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This edition captures advances occurring in the etiology, prevention, and treatment of cancer, from basic science to clinical application. Entries cover a variety of aspects of cancer such as oncology, immunology, epidemiology, gene therapy, oncogenes/tumor suppressor genes, and pharmacology.

Dates of coverage: Published 2004
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, and covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry, relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics.)

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed., 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Alphabetical entries with bibliographies cover the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition including individual nutrients and foods, anatomy and physiology, nutritional therapy for diseases and conditions, nutrition education, religious customs, and folklore. Charts of weights and measures, nutritional allowances, and nutritional content of foods appear as appendices in each volume.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covers all aspects of the problem of interpersonal violence.

Dates of coverage: prehistoric times - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This resource provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States and includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States, including contributions from social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The World's first encyclopedia ever published in the field of nanotechnology. The 10-volume Encyclopedia is an unprecedented single reference source that provides ideal introduction and overview of most recent advances and emerging new aspects of nanotechnology spanning from science to engineering to medicine. It covers all aspects of nanoscale science and technology dealing with materials synthesis, processing, fabrication, probes, spectroscopy, physical properties, electronics, optics, mechanics, biotechnology, devices, etc.

Dates of coverage: Published 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A comprehensive resource on the science of the oceans. Includes contribution on the physical processes that drive the oceans as well as on ocean technology, law of the oceans, global programs, marine policy, the use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate changes.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A key reference work for professionals in academia, industry and government, as well as students at all levels. This resource includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed., 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering. This edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

Dates of coverage: 3rd Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science including polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. The resource is updated quarterly with new and substantially revised articles.

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches, identifies the scientific studies on the efficacy of the therapies, and reviews the theoretical basis of each therapy.

Dates of coverage: Published 2007
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides comprehensive coverage of quaternary science, spanning the geography, biology, physics, and chemistry of the Earth. Examines the nature and causes of changes in the natural environment of the Earth over the last c. 2.6 million years.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains detailed, authoritative information on the entire range of topics related to religion and spiritual practice, including biographical profiles of major figures in religion and religious studies.

Dates of coverage: N/A
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.

Dates of coverage: Updated monthly
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Reference tool for social workers on topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards. Revised and new articles are added monthly.

Dates of coverage: 2005 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides complete information on chemistry, analysis, and evaluation of soils and geography and focuses on agriculture development in the third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. Offers tools to restore and reinvigorate highly compromised soil! Includes detailed contributions from more than 400 esteemed international authorities across nearly 400 entries, plus over 1,000 illustrations

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science. Contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples. Thus, in addition to coverage on countries as disparate as France, Ethiopia, and Tibet, there are also entries on Roma Gypsies, the Maori of New Zealand, and the Saami of northern Europe. There is even a section on food in outer space, detailing how and what astronauts eat and how they prepare for space travel as far as diet and nutrition are concerned. Each entry offers information about foodstuffs, meals, cooking methods, recipes, eating out, holidays and celebrations, and health and diet. Vignettes help readers better understand other cultures, while the inclusion of selected recipes lets them recreate dishes from other lands.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias
Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and a network of web-links to musical sites around the world, including sound archives and illustrations.

Dates of coverage: c. 1000 - 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers. Emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and show tunes with care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. It includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - 1980s
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them.

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

Dates of coverage: Published 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

First attempt since 1968 to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Comprises 4,000 articles and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia covering the disciplines of sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, psychology and other fields.

Dates of coverage: Published 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Covers topics such as the neurochemistry and neurobiology of learning at the cellular and synaptic levels, systems neurobiology, the study of animal capabilities such as homing, ethological and behavioristic analyses, mechanisms, psychology, and disorders of learning and memory in humans.

Dates of coverage: 1955 to current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Methods in enzymology focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the field of enzymology, which includes the chemistry and mechanism of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, as well as the chemistry of the enzymes themselves.

Each topical issue consists solely of invited quality articles by specialist authors. Issues are devoted to specific technical approaches with emphasis on clear detailed descriptions of protocols that allow them to be reproduced easily. The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.

Dates of coverage: N/A
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The close of the first decade of the 21st century is an ideal time to reflect on the status of women in today's world. Women's situation in virtually every conceivable arena--from poetry to politics, education to economy--changed more dramatically in the last 100 years than in the preceding 1,000. And, especially since the turn of the millennium, as the pace of new technologies and new information continues to accelerate, so too has the apparent speed of that social and cultural evolution. It is therefore an apt historical moment to mark progress made in so many areas, while at the same time pondering the complex challenges that accompany change, and bearing in mind that change is not always or invariably for the better. This, in a nutshell, is what The Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World is all about.

Dates of coverage: Early Middle Ages - Present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Includes more than 21,000 biographies of families and deceased persons with a close relation to the German language area who have had a significant impact on developments in scholarship, arts, technology, medicine, economics, politics or social life have been published.

Dates of coverage: second millennium BC to early medieval
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A reference work for the ancient world. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of Der Neue Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Dates of coverage: 2nd. ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A comprehensive resource covering all subjects related to Catholicism. Content is updated annually, assuring users the most current thinking about Catholicism. Written by scholars in partnership with the Catholic University of America, the encyclopedia's peer-reviewed articles are intended for both Catholics and those wanting to understand Catholicism.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art.

Dates of coverage: 4th Century BC - 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who died before the year 2009 and who shaped all aspects of Britain's past – plus over 500 Theme articles on important groups and topical anniversaries

Dates of coverage: Entire History of Seafaring
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law. Placing maritime affairs in their larger historical context, the Encyclopedia shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history.

Dates of coverage: 2010 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. The full text, which was originally printed in five volumes, is available in this online version and includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the 2010 edition with full search and browse functionality.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

An evolving online-only multimedia encyclopedia of microbiology. Arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, the encyclopedia is being updated constantly. Topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and biotechnology. The organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.

Dates of coverage: 1832 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This resource provides coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay provides an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, from behaviorism to Gestalt theory, introducing the basic history of the field. Detailed entries follow, explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

General

Arts & Music

Health & Life Sciences

History & Culture

Physical Sciences & Engineering

Religion & Philosophy

Social Sciences