Ebooks

Dates of coverage: 22nd ed. (2005) - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Handbooks

Features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do.

Dates of coverage: UNH's access is for all volumes added through 2012
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides coverage across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history.

Dates of coverage: Published 1998
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Information on the scientific status of clinical psychology and its subspecialties, theory, clinical techniques, history of the field, and current thinking about training, professional standards and practices, and socio-cultural factors in mental health and illness.

Dates of coverage: Published 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Builds on the classic Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987, and surveys new developments authoritatively, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.

Dates of coverage: Published 1984
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Devoted to organic heterocyclic compounds in which at least one of the ring atoms is carbon, the others being considered the heteroatoms; carbon is still by far the most common ring atom in heterocyclic compounds. As the number and variety of heteroatoms in the ring increase there is a steady transition to the expanding domain of inorganic heterocyclic systems.

Dates of coverage: Published 1991
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Draws together the common themes that underlie the many apparently disparate areas of organic chemistry which underpin synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. The contributions have been organized to reflect the way in which synthetic chemists approach a problem. In terms of organic molecules, the work is divided into formation of carbon-carbon bonds, introduction of heteroatoms and heteroatom interconversions.

Dates of coverage: Published 1982
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A compendium of knowledge covering contemporary organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry. In addition to reviewing the chemistry of the elements individually, it surveys the use of organometallic species in organic synthesis and in catalysis, especially of industrial utility.

Dates of coverage: Published 1995
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A compendium of knowledge covering contemporary organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry. In addition to reviewing the chemistry of the elements individually, it surveys the use of organometallic species in organic synthesis and in catalysis, especially of industrial utility.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Dictionaries, Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Dates of coverage: 2004 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias
Funded by: the Philip J. Sawyer Fund

Lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.

Dates of coverage: 1473-1700
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks, Primary Sources
Funded by: the James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Contains over 7000 books covering a wide range of topics.

Dates of coverage: NA
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

An online book collection that spans all academic subject areas. It includes more than 70,000 full-text books, reports and other authoritative content from leading publishers.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Elsevier's Major Reference Works on SciVerse ScienceDirect are the most accessible, authoritative source for building foundation knowledge in one's area of expertise and gaining cross-disciplinary, comparative perspective in related or new areas.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

A world leader in e-research and educational publishing for libraries, schools and businesses. Best known for its accurate and authoritative reference content as well as its intelligent organization of full-text magazine and newspaper articles, the company creates and maintains more than 600 databases that are published online, in print, as eBooks and in microform.

Dates of coverage: Published 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Covers topics such as the neurochemistry and neurobiology of learning at the cellular and synaptic levels, systems neurobiology, the study of animal capabilities such as homing, ethological and behavioristic analyses, mechanisms, psychology, and disorders of learning and memory in humans.

Dates of coverage: 1997 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Searchable full text of selected conference proceedings in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series (1997-) and the SpringerLink Computer Science Ebook Collection (2005-) The full series is available in print (see UNH Library Catalog for holdings).

Dates of coverage: 1955 to current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Methods in enzymology focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the field of enzymology, which includes the chemistry and mechanism of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, as well as the chemistry of the enzymes themselves.

Each topical issue consists solely of invited quality articles by specialist authors. Issues are devoted to specific technical approaches with emphasis on clear detailed descriptions of protocols that allow them to be reproduced easily. The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

An evolving online-only multimedia encyclopedia of microbiology. Arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, the encyclopedia is being updated constantly. Topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and biotechnology. The organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 15
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides access to 1000's of technical books online. Content emphasizes computer programming, software and apps (including mobile apps) including business aspects. You can search the fulltext of all content by keyword, title, author and/or browse by category. Most Safari books may also be accessed via the UNH Library and BLC Worldcat catalogs (UNH copy only). Please log off after use, as access is limited to 15 concurrent users. If you log off and want to re-connect, use the Log In link to go to the Academic User log-in button. For extra content, such as a CD that was included in the print edition, check for an Extras tab on the book's entry page. Printing: individual pages only. Downloading: not available.

Dates of coverage: Published 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Provides a comprehensive, integrated summary of the present state of geochemistry. Deals with all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.

Dates of coverage: Published 2007
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics, dealing with all major parts of Solid-Earth Geophysics, including a volume on the terrestrial planets and moons in our solar system.