Dictionaries

Dates of coverage: 12th - 20th centuries
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Dictionaries

The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language provides access to texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Includes access to ARTFL-FRANTEXT, Dictionnaire Historique et Critique, French Women Writers, Le Grand Dictionnaire Historique, Journal de Trévoux, Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database, Provençal Poetry, and Textes de Français Ancien.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Dictionaries, Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Dates of coverage: Past 500 years
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries

A 10.3 million-word collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language. Covering five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world, the Dictionary is the most authoritative, scholarly approach to slang ever attempted. Over 100,000 words are defined; each word is authenticated by genuine and full-referenced citations of its use.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries

Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.

Dates of coverage: NA
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries

The innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

Dates of coverage: Classical antiquity - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Dictionaries

Offers access and cross-search of multiple music reference resources. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles.

Dates of coverage: Launched in 1995; varies by Introduction
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries, General

Provides concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas, from arts and humanities to medicine and health, and bridges the gap between reference content and higher academic work.