Audio, Video & Images

Dates of coverage: 1600s to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Get help for ARTstor.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Audio, Video & Images

The world's leading source of art images, representing museums, galleries, and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and many others also feature in the collection.

Dates of coverage: 1900s to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Large multi-label database of classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 142,000+ tracks includes recordings of music written from Gregorian chant to many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Dates of coverage: 19th century to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains audio files of over 3700 CDs. DRAM includes 7500 compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

Offers a single point of access to millions of freely available digitized items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, maps, and more—from America’s libraries, archives, and museums. In addition to a standard search engine, the portal provides searching and access by timeline, map, format, or topic.

Dates of coverage: 1920s to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. Covers every world region and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and more.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to streaming jazz online; includes thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that publishes biological, medical, chemical and physical research methods in video format. To help communicate complex laboratory techniques, JoVE Biology provides step-by-step protocols accompanied by videos that help in visualizing the procedures, often with commentary from the researchers.

Currently, UNH provides access to the Biology and Neuroscience sections only.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that includes techniques from a wide variety of fields, focusing on those intended to lend insight into the structure, function, physiology and pathophysiology of the central and peripheral nervous systems.

Currently, UNH provides access to the General and Neuroscience sections only.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to streaming audio in the following Alexander Street Press Music Collections: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Every object in the collection is indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides nearly complete audio access to more than 92,210 CDs and over 1,100,000 tracks of primarily classical music, as well as some jazz and world/folk music Includes music notes, cover art, libretti from over 700 operas, and over 40,000 composer biographies.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks, and more.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Dates of coverage: 1930s to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with online streaming video of more than 100 film documentaries, more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Users can select portions of videos and save them as playable clips.