Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 15
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides access to 1000's of technical books online. Content emphasizes computer programming, software and apps (including mobile apps) including business aspects. You can search the fulltext of all content by keyword, title, author and/or browse by category. Most Safari books may also be accessed via the UNH Library and BLC Worldcat catalogs (UNH copy only). Please log off after use, as access is limited to 15 concurrent users. If you log off and want to re-connect, use the Log In link to go to the Academic User log-in button. For extra content, such as a CD that was included in the print edition, check for an Extras tab on the book's entry page. Printing: individual pages only. Downloading: not available.

Dates of coverage: 1999 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences. Searches may be limited to subsets of journals under each discipline by selecting Browse, then Journals by discipline.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A tool designed to help create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRMO links to authoritative content, including more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks as well as journal articles, and videos. Also unique to SRMO is the Methods Map, a visual search tool supported by a unique, complex taxonomy of research methods terms, methodologies, and people in the field.

Dates of coverage: 1885-1943
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Sanborn Company's fire insurance maps of New Hampshire are valuable historical documents depicting the development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They show outlines of individual buildings, their use and physical characteristics.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Government Information, Technical Reports

Provides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect is the platform for Elsevier publications.

Dates of coverage: 1907-present, plus selected earlier references
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users, Non-commercial use only
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

The Web interface for the world's foremost resource for chemical information, Chemical Abstracts. Indexes the literature of pure and applied chemistry and broadly related areas; searchable by text, such as author and research topic; plus chemical identifiers, structures, and reactions. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, patents, books, technical reports, and dissertations. Corresponds to the databases CAplus, CAS Registry, and CASREACT, and to the printed resource Chemical Abstracts.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

SDBS is a selective database; it includes data for 6 types of spectra: EI mass spectrometry (over 20,000 compounds), hydrogen NMR, 13C NMR, FT-IR (over 49,000 spectra), and some ESR and Raman spectra. Access is free, but users are asked to limit downloads to 50 or fewer spectra per day.

If you use data from SDBS for a publication, please acknowledge, for example:
SDBSWeb: http://sdbs.riodb.aist.go.jp (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, date of access)

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.

Dates of coverage: 1801-1819
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the University of New Hampshire Library
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Comprising 901 tables concentrating on a broad scope of common physical and chemical data, the information provided is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.

Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases, which are multidisciplinary databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. After you perform a search, a list of the titles of the articles are returned. Click an article title to view the full record, which includes the title, author, bibliographic information, abstract, and more. From a full record, you can view lists of the article's references, articles that cite the article, or articles that are related to the article.

Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Concurrent Users: 4
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Contains indexing and abstracts from more than 850 social work and human services journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 4 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time, as for a course.

Dates of coverage: 1952 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers.

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes over 1,200 international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC).

Dates of coverage: Some information goes back to 1993, but most from 1998 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

SBRnet focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. It provides updated resources featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, and sports marketing.

Dates of coverage: present (with 3 year archive)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Business and Finance

Industry Surveys provides in-depth financial and business analysis of 52 major U.S. industries, including information about recent developments with forecasts of industry conditions and emerging trends. Users can view tables, charts, and graphs of key industry conditions and statistics along with textual analysis and commentary. Historical data is archived for 3 years.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Dates of coverage: Varies with publication.
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

Dates of coverage: 1914 but varies by series
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The official source for Canadian social and economic statistics offers searching of CANSIM, the key socioeconomic database, updated daily. Data on Canada’s census, government, trade, cultural resources, and other statistical programs is available.