Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Dates of coverage: 1915 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, governmental and non-governmental organizations at all levels.

Dates of coverage: 1790-present (patents); ca. 1890-present (trademarks)
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) site covers patent history, filing, and classification, with a complete database of U.S, patents allowing full text searching of patents granted from 1976 to present; patents granted from 1790-1975 are searchable via classification. Patents can be viewed as images (TIF format). The USPTO site also offers links to some international patent databases. For trademarks, the USPTO site lets you search for active and inactive U.S. trademarks, with words or numerical descriptors, providing online images of the trademarks, dating back to the late 19th century.

Dates of coverage: 1790-present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office also partners with Google to allow powerful full text searching of all U.S. patents, with PDF images and is highly recommended for first-time users of the patent database.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

First place to look for contemporary or recent U.S. and non-U.S. maps. World-wide coverage, arranged geographically. Notable for CIA maps and topographic maps of non-U.S. locations.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Dates of coverage: 1940 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Locate information on voluntarism, nonprofit organizations, fundraising, and charitable giving. Since November of 2003, dissertations, working papers, and web sites are also included.

The Find It link in these records pertains to IUPUI holdings; check the UNH Library catalog for our holdings.

Dates of coverage: 19th & 20th century
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections

A digital library of primary and secondary sources (books, journals, and pamphlets) that supports teaching and learning about philanthropy and the nonprofit sector.

Dates of coverage: 1940 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language

Dates of coverage: 1973 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This University of Minnesota Library database indexes 1,000 nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines. PIO is the best way to search for nursery sources of or magazine articles about specific varieties of ornamental plants. The service was preceded by the Andersen Horticultural Library's Source List.

Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Is a working list of all known plant species. Version 1 aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts). It does not include algae or fungi.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Dates of coverage: 1920 -
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

An archive of global, non-partisan public policy research from think tanks, universities, government organizations and foundations. Subjects include government, international relations, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights and much more. Created by the Center for Governmental Studies.

Dates of coverage: 1986 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Social Sciences and Health

Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Dates of coverage: 1986 - 2000
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

Dates of coverage: 1985 to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present (varies with journal)
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) contains the full-text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. The journals, which are indexed in HAPI Online - Hispanic American Periodicals Index, have articles in Spanish, English or Portuguese.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

An evolving online-only multimedia encyclopedia of microbiology. Arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, the encyclopedia is being updated constantly. Topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and biotechnology. The organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.

Dates of coverage: Varies by database
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Formerly Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service.ProQuest, the company, is a world leader in serving the information needs of millions of researchers of all ages, of all abilities, in libraries and institutions around the world. ProQuest, the product, is the database search application we designed to pursue our mission to connect people and information, and realize our vision to be central to research around the world.

Dates of coverage: 1789 to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Provides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes indexing of congressional publications and legislative histories for public laws from 1970 to the present. Also includes testimony from congressional hearings, information about members of Congress and Congressional committees, and bill tracking.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides searching of indexed figures, tables, graphs, maps, charts and other illustrations from scholarly journals.

Dates of coverage: 1988 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews. There are 3 ways to access information: (1) view the weekly releases; (2) browse by author/editor, book/film title, or publication year; (3) perform a standard database search.

Dates of coverage: 1832 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This resource provides coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay provides an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, from behaviorism to Gestalt theory, introducing the basic history of the field. Detailed entries follow, explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.

Dates of coverage: 1887 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides full-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences, including those in PubMed.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. Publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals. Provides citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.