Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Dates of coverage: 1981 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is totally comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

Dates of coverage: 1960 - 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Social Sciences and Health

Offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, International and Foreign

Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, featuring its books, papers and statistics, and gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

Dates of coverage: Varies by Title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Portal to key historical map collections including British Library, Harvard University, New York Public Library and many others. Use for a broad search for historical maps.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan
and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Dates of coverage: 1922 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Is the Optical Society of America's online library for OSA flagship journals and for partnered and co-published journals. It contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.

Includes access to papers presented at Topical Meetings but not Major Meetings. Major Meetings include CLEO (lasers), FiO (Frontiers in Optics; annual meeting), and OFC/NFOEC (fiber). Some CLEO and OFC/NFOEC papers may be available via IEEE Xplore

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art.

Dates of coverage: 4th Century BC - 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who died before the year 2009 and who shaped all aspects of Britain's past – plus over 500 Theme articles on important groups and topical anniversaries

Dates of coverage: Entire History of Seafaring
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law. Placing maritime affairs in their larger historical context, the Encyclopedia shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries

Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Handbooks

Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.

UNH's access is for the Oxford Handbooks Online Literature Collection 2014

Dates of coverage: 2010 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. The full text, which was originally printed in five volumes, is available in this online version and includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the 2010 edition with full search and browse functionality.

Dates of coverage: NA
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries

The innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.