Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Dates of coverage: 1935 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1970-present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Dates of coverage: c. 1000 - 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers. Emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and show tunes with care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. It includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Dates of coverage: 1985 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Database has searchable full text for nearly 160 journals; abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications; thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems; over 1,000 health-related pamphlets; and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular emphasis on nursing and allied health and indexing for more than 820 journals.

Dates of coverage: 1850-1925
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections, Primary Sources

A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.

Dates of coverage: 16th century - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Image-based legal research collection: law and law-related periodicals, Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, coverage of U.S. Reports back to 1754, world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1400
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Believed to be the earliest extant copy of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales and dates from soon after Chaucer's death in 1400.

Dates of coverage: 1954 - present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 6
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Index to sources on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life with Full Text), from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages. The full text version provides full-text coverage to more than 350 journals and 130 books. In addition, it includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text content provided by JSTOR, Project Muse, and the History Cooperative.

UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 6 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time.

Dates of coverage: Varies by data series
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information, US Federal, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource contains a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The resource will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Note: To use the custom tables, users must register for an account. To register, click on the register link in the upper right corner of the page and complete the form.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - 1980s
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them.

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

An open-source collection of over 107,800 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Business, Economics, and Finance

Provides information on over 85 million companies with flexible tools to easily search U.S. and international companies. Easily review Fortune 500 and other popular rankings.

Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 670,000 records. There is full text for more than 330 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. This comprehensive database combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.

Dates of coverage: 1907-1984
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides citations to articles covering a wide-range of humanities and interdisciplinary fields. The sources include core, scholarly English-language periodicals as well as a number of lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Among the subjects covered are: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary and Social Criticism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.