Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

A world leader in e-research and educational publishing for libraries, schools and businesses. Best known for its accurate and authoritative reference content as well as its intelligent organization of full-text magazine and newspaper articles, the company creates and maintains more than 600 databases that are published online, in print, as eBooks and in microform.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Focuses on citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

Search engine for gene expression. It integrates manually curated public microarray and RNAseq experiments and visualizes gene expression across different biological contexts such as diseases, drugs, tissues, cancers, cell lines or genotypes.

UNH users must first register securely with their UNH IT ID credentials (email, password) at https://genevestigator.com/gv/user/registration.jsp in order to access the database

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access

Consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America. Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-1988. A few are from earlier years. Geoscience Information Society (GSIS) volunteers have added many post-1988 guidebooks to the database. Beginning in 2002, new guidebooks will be added to GeoRef as part of the regular database production, and then added to the guidebook database from the GeoRef records.

Dates of coverage: North America: 17th century - present; World: 1933 - present.
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Dissertations & Theses

Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Business, Economics, and Finance

Offers a structured, systematic and comprehensive approach to identifying and measuring the drivers of economic performance of more than 140 economies.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Business, Economics, and Finance

Provides access to merchandise trade data for more than 80 of the world’s major economies.

Dates of coverage: 1830-1865; Parts I-III
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

The magazine was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Each issue also contained two pages of sheet music, written essentially for the piano forte. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine and contained extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories. The Lady's Book was also a vast reservoir of handsome illustrations, which included hand-colored fashion plates, mezzotints, engravings, woodcuts, and ultimately chromolithographs.

Dates of coverage: 1793 - varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Access full-text federal government publications from a user-friendly, modernized site that provides easy-to-use navigation. The content is the same as FDsys and searchable but not all browse pages or detail pages have been built yet. This new site will eventually replace the FDsys website.

Dates of coverage: Varies by dataset
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

The state GIS clearinghouse for geospatial data produced by state and federal agencies and other organizations. Requires specialized software for use of datasets. Use of data requires agreement to disclaimer

Dates of coverage: Past 500 years
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Dictionaries

A 10.3 million-word collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language. Covering five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world, the Dictionary is the most authoritative, scholarly approach to slang ever attempted. Over 100,000 words are defined; each word is authenticated by genuine and full-referenced citations of its use.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A scholarly art encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and encompassing all aspects of visual culture. First published as the 34-volume Dictionary of Art edited by Jane Turner. Formerly known as the Grove Dictionary of Art online.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and a network of web-links to musical sites around the world, including sound archives and illustrations.

Dates of coverage: 2nd edition, 2003
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The overall structure of this reference work is based on the classification of animals into naturally related groups, a discipline known as taxonomy or biosystematics. Taxonomy is the science through which various organisms are discovered, identified, described, named, classified and catalogued. It should be noted that in preparing this volume what might be termed a conservative approach was adopted, relying primarily on traditional animal classification schemes.

Dates of coverage: 2011
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covers evolution in detail and explores it from a scientific viewpoint. Includes comprehensive coverage of recent ideas and discoveries in the field of evolution. Presents information, research, and discoveries on a variety of topics related to evolutionary processes and mechanisms, discussing the origins of life on Earth, genetics, sexual selection, artificial selection, and other related topics.

Dates of coverage: 2013
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This new supplement explores all aspects of extinctions and extinct life, featuring approximately 80 articles outlining major extinctions and related scientific areas. Entries are written by nationally renowned subject experts specializing in zoology, paleontology, and environmental science. Written for students and general researchers.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

An annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

Dates of coverage: Varies by organization
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Provides basic information about the operations and finances of nonprofit organizations, including access to IRS Form 990. To view some data, users must register for a free password.