Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Dates of coverage: 1639-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, the University of New Hampshire Library.

Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Dates of coverage: 1801-1819
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the University of New Hampshire Library

With this series, research westward expansion, the development of American arts, the progression of American political thought and much more. In addition to books, broadsides and pamphlets, the collection includes published reports and the works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Additionally, a large number of state papers and early government materials chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation.

Dates of coverage: 1690-1922
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service,President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

Digital archive that includes over 1,000 titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Dates of coverage: 1473-1700
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks, Primary Sources
Funded by: the James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Contains over 7000 books covering a wide range of topics.

Dates of coverage: NA
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

An online book collection that spans all academic subject areas. It includes more than 70,000 full-text books, reports and other authoritative content from leading publishers.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

Dates of coverage: 1969 - present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 4
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts and full text of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 4 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time, as for a course.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

An online resource for automotive information. Its comprehensive set of data, tools and services is generated by Edmunds.com Information Solutions. This site includes Edmunds most popular consumer product, Edmunds.com True Market Value pricing, which provides market-reflective valuations for new and used vehicles.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers a collection of full-text education journals, encompassing an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Dates of coverage: 1949 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life, full-text, and fully-indexed, focusing on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.

Dates of coverage: 1701-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources
Funded by: James D. Merritt Memorial Book Fund, Edmund G. Miller Library Fund, Gladys Brooks Fund for Books and Periodicals in the Humanities, Dunleavy Library Fund, Lucille Wengler Wheeler History Book Fund

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, this resource provides full-text access to 150,000 English and foreign-language works published in the United Kingdom during the Eighteenth Century. Included are thousands of important works produced in the Americas. There are multiple, full-text searching options to gain access to the 33 million pages of books, sermons, pamphlets and broadsides. This truly multidisciplinary resource includes works in: history; the social sciences; the fine arts; medicine; science and technology; religion and philosophy; law; and literature and languages.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Elsevier's Major Reference Works on SciVerse ScienceDirect are the most accessible, authoritative source for building foundation knowledge in one's area of expertise and gaining cross-disciplinary, comparative perspective in related or new areas.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic Edition combines the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. More than 600 maps, charts, tables, photographs, illustrations and other visuals concisely illustrate key textual elements, and among other features making this scholarly work accessible, are entry-specific bibliographies to help guide further research.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives.

Dates of coverage: 2000, plus updates
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Authoritative, encyclopedic coverage of astronomy and astrophysics, appropriate for college to post-graduate level. Includes 2,500 articles by eminent scientists, with personalization options, current news updates, and links to selected Web sites.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed., 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This edition captures advances occurring in the etiology, prevention, and treatment of cancer, from basic science to clinical application. Entries cover a variety of aspects of cancer such as oncology, immunology, epidemiology, gene therapy, oncogenes/tumor suppressor genes, and pharmacology.

Dates of coverage: Published 2004
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, and covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry, relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics.)

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed., 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Alphabetical entries with bibliographies cover the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition including individual nutrients and foods, anatomy and physiology, nutritional therapy for diseases and conditions, nutrition education, religious customs, and folklore. Charts of weights and measures, nutritional allowances, and nutritional content of foods appear as appendices in each volume.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covers all aspects of the problem of interpersonal violence.

Dates of coverage: prehistoric times - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This resource provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States and includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States, including contributions from social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.

Dates of coverage: Published 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A comprehensive resource on the science of the oceans. Includes contribution on the physical processes that drive the oceans as well as on ocean technology, law of the oceans, global programs, marine policy, the use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate changes.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A key reference work for professionals in academia, industry and government, as well as students at all levels. This resource includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed., 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A university and professional level compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering. This edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

Dates of coverage: 3rd Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias, Physical Sciences & Engineering

Presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science including polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. The resource is updated quarterly with new and substantially revised articles.

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches, identifies the scientific studies on the efficacy of the therapies, and reviews the theoretical basis of each therapy.

Dates of coverage: Published 2007
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides comprehensive coverage of quaternary science, spanning the geography, biology, physics, and chemistry of the Earth. Examines the nature and causes of changes in the natural environment of the Earth over the last c. 2.6 million years.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains detailed, authoritative information on the entire range of topics related to religion and spiritual practice, including biographical profiles of major figures in religion and religious studies.

Dates of coverage: N/A
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Responding to growing demands for transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods, it will increase the proficiency of everyone who gathers and analyzes data. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.

Dates of coverage: Updated monthly
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Reference tool for social workers on topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards. Revised and new articles are added monthly.

Dates of coverage: 2005 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides complete information on chemistry, analysis, and evaluation of soils and geography and focuses on agriculture development in the third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. Offers tools to restore and reinvigorate highly compromised soil! Includes detailed contributions from more than 400 esteemed international authorities across nearly 400 entries, plus over 1,000 illustrations

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science. Contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Web search interface for engineering information, including searches of Ei Compendex; engineering handbooks (not linked to data; use citation to look up reference at Library); the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web site; and TechStreet standards (not linked to full-text). Offers specialized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts for Ei Compendex.

Dates of coverage: 1473-1800
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Provides descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language--as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs.

Dates of coverage: 2007 to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users

The leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's four daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy.

Dates of coverage: Dates back over 100 years
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 33,000 full-text ERIC documents. For articles, limit to EJ items, for documents, limit to ED items.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - 1984
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Provides access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible.

Dates of coverage: 1974 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Government Information, Technical Reports

Includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. The collection includes over 3,109,800 bibliographic records and over 104,000 full text documents. Additional records may also have links to help users find the full text. ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.

Dates of coverage: 1920s to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior--more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. Covers every world region and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and more.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A comprehensive international directory and guide to universities, museums and art galleries, libraries and archives, research institutes, and learned societies as well as their staff and officials. Includes higher education framework profiles for every country and essays covering the field of higher education around the world.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and includes current and archival content.

Dates of coverage: 1639-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, the University of New Hampshire Library.