Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Dates of coverage: 1973-present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 4
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Extensive international database focusing on articles, books, and gray literature covering a wide range of subject areas including agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology, and plant sciences.

Dates of coverage: UNH's access is for all volumes added through 2012
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides coverage across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history.

Dates of coverage: Current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Contains more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.

Users must create a login to access this resource.

Dates of coverage: 1718 - 1876
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Featuring more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Useful for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Contains citations for articles, books, videos, etc. on topics including philanthropy, foundations, the nonprofit sector, voluntarism, government policies and funding, as well as theory and philosophy.

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Provides a complete and systematic bibliographic online search tool for scholarship on Geoffrey Chaucer, providing annotations or content summaries for all entries.

Dates of coverage: N/A
Access: Restricted to UNH users

The industry-standard software for chemical structure drawing that allows you to create stereochemically-correct structures from chemical names. Our site license permits UNH community members to install ChemDraw Standard on personal computers. To download onto your computer, click this link, enter your @unh.edu email address for authentication, click 'Continue' to start downloading, follow the instructions. For download questions, contact Chemistry Library staff (chemistry.library@unh.edu).

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Index with abstracts for over 150 journals on chemoreception research and applications. Covered areas include basic and applied research, standardization and legislation, methods and instrumentation, patents, and marketing.

Dates of coverage: 15th-16th Editions
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Includes fully-searchable text with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions.

Dates of coverage: 1988 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

Dates of coverage: 1908 - 1999
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Searchable digital reproductions of every page of every issue including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, and advertisements. For printing instructions, click here.

Dates of coverage: 1980 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Access in HTML format. CSM covers international and US news and features.

Dates of coverage: 1989 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The electronic version is made available within two business days after publication of the print edition, and may include information not available in the print edition.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources, Theses & Dissertations

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.

Dates of coverage: 1937-present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 12
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 5000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

12 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time.

Dates of coverage: 1860-1865
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

A full-text, full-image collection of newspapers that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War, advertisements, news articles and editorials.

Dates of coverage: 1900s to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Large multi-label database of classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 142,000+ tracks includes recordings of music written from Gregorian chant to many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Dates of coverage: Medieval to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Targeted to be the most comprehensive database of classical scores, representing the major composers output, spanning all genres and time periods from the Western classical canon.

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 1
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Provides online access to Library of Congress (LC) Classification, LC Subject Headings, Genre/Form Terms, LC Name Terms, and Children’s Subject Headings.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), and other published and unpublished sources. Records include the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details) and, in many cases, a summary of the article.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Controlled Trials Register includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies that could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Dates of coverage: varies by journal title
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals in areas related to communication and mass media.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Index to 2,600 journals, conferences, and reports, with comprehensive coverage of engineering literature. Includes abstracts for 50% of entries. Offers personalized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts. Corresponds to Engineering Index (for information on print holdings from 1884- see UNH Library Catalog).

Dates of coverage: Classical Antiquity - Present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Dates of coverage: Published 1998
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Information on the scientific status of clinical psychology and its subspecialties, theory, clinical techniques, history of the field, and current thinking about training, professional standards and practices, and socio-cultural factors in mental health and illness.

Dates of coverage: Published 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Builds on the classic Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987, and surveys new developments authoritatively, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.

Dates of coverage: Published 1984
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Devoted to organic heterocyclic compounds in which at least one of the ring atoms is carbon, the others being considered the heteroatoms; carbon is still by far the most common ring atom in heterocyclic compounds. As the number and variety of heteroatoms in the ring increase there is a steady transition to the expanding domain of inorganic heterocyclic systems.

Dates of coverage: Published 1991
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Draws together the common themes that underlie the many apparently disparate areas of organic chemistry which underpin synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. The contributions have been organized to reflect the way in which synthetic chemists approach a problem. In terms of organic molecules, the work is divided into formation of carbon-carbon bonds, introduction of heteroatoms and heteroatom interconversions.

Dates of coverage: Published 1982
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A compendium of knowledge covering contemporary organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry. In addition to reviewing the chemistry of the elements individually, it surveys the use of organometallic species in organic synthesis and in catalysis, especially of industrial utility.

Dates of coverage: Published 1995
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A compendium of knowledge covering contemporary organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry. In addition to reviewing the chemistry of the elements individually, it surveys the use of organometallic species in organic synthesis and in catalysis, especially of industrial utility.

Dates of coverage: 1998 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A searchable collection of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, non-biased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

Comprehensive access to US legislative information. Includes indexing of publications such as the Congressional Record and hearings, bills and laws, legislative histories (for public laws from 1970+), regulations and political news. Also includes information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Public policy briefs issued by the CRS to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Guide to the thousands of environmental non-profit, education, commercial, and government groups operating across the planet.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Contains current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors. You can easily search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Dates of coverage: early 19th century - late 20th century
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 10
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press.

There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Dictionaries, Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Dates of coverage: 1968 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Indexes over 400 journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world.

Dates of coverage: 1976 - present (coverage varies by title)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A subset of SAGE Journals.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Collection of culturally informed essays on body parts provides context and weight to the pop culture and media focus on the body beautiful.

Dates of coverage: 1974 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. The CIS Extended Database (CIS-ED) includes coverage, in most cases from 1974 to the present from 106 "core journals" (and pre-1974 coverage for a number of them), selected articles from about 900 additional journals, and about 8,000 books in statistics. Each year, the Extended Database is updated with an additional year of coverage.

Dates of coverage: 2004 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias
Funded by: the Philip J. Sawyer Fund

Lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.