Databases by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W
Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.

Dates of coverage: 1887 (some PDF content) - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study.

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies.

Mac Users - Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Provides archived historical information, including Godey's Lady's Book: Parts I-III, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, and African American Newspapers: The 19th Century.

Dates of coverage: 1947 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles along with selected works published by affiliated organizations.

Dates of coverage: 1879-1995
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Full text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). The Archives enables researchers to understand historical discoveries that led to modern chemistry and influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.

Dates of coverage: 1996 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.

Dates of coverage: 1827-1870
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Full-text/full-image pages containing early biographies, vital statistics, editorials and advertisements. Includes Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Primary information sources in agriculture and related fields and includes citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This United Nations database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural publications. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is free to all.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Reports findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.

Dates of coverage: 1990+
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. A comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information.

Dates of coverage: 1969 - 1991
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Companion to the Alternative Press Index.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. Includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.

Dates of coverage: 1690 - 1922
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service, President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

Comprehensive digital archive that includes titles from all 50 states. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Dates of coverage: 1964 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Index to over 1,900 sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations.

Dates of coverage: 1691 - 1820
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Presents over 500 titles. The content is available through EBSCO's Historical Digital Archive Viewer, which combines the experience of browsing and reading original sources with the convenience of keyword access, a variety of page views, note-taking capabilities, and numerous downloading options.

Dates of coverage: 1821 - 1837
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Presents over 1000 titles. The subject matter is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

Dates of coverage: 1600s to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Dates of coverage: 22nd ed. (2005) - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1600s - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Profiles of more than 18,700 deceased men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the US. Search or browse by name or use Advanced Search (Search tab) to find people by occupation/realm of renown, gender, birth and/or death date, birthplace, and more.

All the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The Society's journals cover the spectrum of microbiology, including coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - 1838
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: US Federal

Contains the legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses (about 6,300 documents). Arranged in ten subject such as Foreign Relations and Military Affairs and with full-text search capability, this is a rich resource in primary documents on wide-ranging aspects of early American history.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Explains how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. This encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1978 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.). Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.

Dates of coverage: 1680 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Genealogical research database providing information on more than 1 billion names and 3000 databases. Includes selected census records, birth, marriage and death, military, probate, and immigration and naturalization records as well as some genealogical newspapers and periodicals. Also included are guides to starting genealogical research and compiling a family history.

Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Dates of coverage: Current Year
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Annual reports for many public companies. Search for a company alphabetically, by company name, by ticker symbol, by sector, or by industry.

Dates of coverage: 19th century - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexes articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries found in hundreds of journals and monographic series. International coverage includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

Investigates the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, experimental, forensic, health, and "tele-" psychology. Also discusses the teaching of ethics.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Handbooks

Features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do.

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources including serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms for scientists involved in the cooperative management of the world's living aquatic resources. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides access to abstracts covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries.

Dates of coverage: 1984 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides aquaculture-related information on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species.

Dates of coverage: 1989 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides information on findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Dates of coverage: Ancient times to 2000
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the international research literature. Includes biographical and historical references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals, proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog for information on print holdings).

Dates of coverage: 1984 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Source documents also include yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of art works.

Dates of coverage: 1929-1984
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Index covering more than 55 years of art journalism from over 420 notable publications. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins as well as publications in French, Italian, German, and Dutch.

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The Web of Science accesses ISI citation databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Especially useful is the Cited Reference Search, which finds newer articles citing to older, known items. For literary topics, limit search to the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Get help for ARTstor.

Dates of coverage: 1990 to present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides full text access to journals published by the ASME (founded as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers).

Dates of coverage: Founded in 1997; online in 1998
Access: Open Access
Type: Social Sciences and Health

Collection of hundreds of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers interested in religion. Includes American and international collections.

Dates of coverage: Active Standards
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Standards

A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. The UNH Library also has the full set of ASTM standards in print for 2012.

The print ASTM standards in the UNH Library are available at the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library in Kingsbury Hall. See the UNH Library Catalog for call number and availability (title: Annual Book of ASTM Standards).

Dates of coverage: v.1 to present (Astronomy); 1975 to present (Physics)
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Technical Reports, Theses & Dissertations

NASA project, provides indexes to research publications in astronomy and astrophysics/planetary sciences/solar physics; instrumentation; physics and geophysics; and the Los Alamos preprint server. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and dissertations. Searching is by author, object name (astronomy), title, words in the abstract, or journal citation. Links to online abstracts and journal articles, and extensive set of scanned journal and proceedings papers. Also provides access to NED (NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database) and SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements, and Bibliography for Astronomical Data). Other functions include a table-of-contents service for over 20 journals, links to cited and citing articles, and scanned copies of selected books and observatory reports.

Dates of coverage: 1600's - 1990
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Interpretative biographical articles on deceased (prior to 1991) people from every social group and sphere of endeavor who have made a significant contribution to the Australian nation. Entries range from 500 to 6,000 words.

Entries are currently being selected for people who died in 1991-2000.