Psychology

Articles

Dates of coverage: 1979 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.

Dates of coverage: 1665 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles
Funded by: in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School

An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals in a wide range of disciplines. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year. Go to the Advanced Search page and limit by one or more disciplines to search only journals in those areas.

Dates of coverage: 1949 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The major research tool for medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains full test for 1,470 journals and indexing for more than 4,800 current biomedical journals. Coverage from 1949; full-text from 1965.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).

Dates of coverage: 1988 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Database of full-text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Dates of coverage: 1887 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users, Trial
Type: Articles

Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Provides full MEDLINE coverage and features interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys.

Dates of coverage: 1952 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - Present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.Editions included: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

Diagnostic Manuals

Dates of coverage: 5th ed., 2013
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

A classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. PDFs of earlier DSM editions are available.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

Investigates the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, experimental, forensic, health, and "tele-" psychology. Also discusses the teaching of ethics.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Handbooks

Features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do.

Dates of coverage: Published 1998
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Information on the scientific status of clinical psychology and its subspecialties, theory, clinical techniques, history of the field, and current thinking about training, professional standards and practices, and socio-cultural factors in mental health and illness.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States, including contributions from social, developmental, methodological, clinical, industrial/organizational, and health, educational, school, and family psychology.

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches, identifies the scientific studies on the efficacy of the therapies, and reviews the theoretical basis of each therapy.

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science. Contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

Dates of coverage: Published 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Covers topics such as the neurochemistry and neurobiology of learning at the cellular and synaptic levels, systems neurobiology, the study of animal capabilities such as homing, ethological and behavioristic analyses, mechanisms, psychology, and disorders of learning and memory in humans.

Dates of coverage: 1832 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This resource provides coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them. An introductory essay provides an overview of the various schools of psychological thought, from behaviorism to Gestalt theory, introducing the basic history of the field. Detailed entries follow, explaining each individual theory in practical terms and exploring the historical impact of each. Entries conclude with a bibliography and further reading list.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A comprehensive reference work containing 300 articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs. Topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods. Written for a wide audience, this reference work provides students, scholars, medical doctors, and anyone interested in neuroscience a comprehensive overview of the knowledge accumulated on the function of sense organs, sensory systems, and how the brain processes sensory input. Leading scholars from around the world contributed articles, making The Senses a truly international portrait of sensory physiology.

Miscellaneous

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that includes techniques from a wide variety of fields, focusing on those intended to lend insight into the structure, function, physiology and pathophysiology of the central and peripheral nervous systems.

Currently, UNH provides access to the General and Neuroscience sections only.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Descriptions and critical evaluations of commercially available tests and measures, from the ninth edition to the current edition of the yearbook.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Each week PsycCRITIQUES releases 15 or more reviews of current books and films. In addition, the database contains book reviews. There are 3 ways to access information: (1) view the weekly releases; (2) browse by author/editor, book/film title, or publication year; (3) perform a standard database search.