Physics

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies.

Mac Users - Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Dates of coverage: 2000 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Reports findings presented at many of the most important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports providing quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.

Dates of coverage: 22nd ed. (2005) - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more.

Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

Dates of coverage: Ancient times to 2000
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Major index for all areas of astronomy and astrophysics, covering the international research literature. Includes biographical and historical references to the field. Types of sources indexed include journals, proceedings, books and reports. Refers to abstracts published in its printed counterparts, Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, 1969-2000, Astronomischer Jahresbericht, 1899-1968, and earlier bibliographies (see UNH Library Catalog for information on print holdings).

Dates of coverage: 2000, plus updates
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Authoritative, encyclopedic coverage of astronomy and astrophysics, appropriate for college to post-graduate level. Includes 2,500 articles by eminent scientists, with personalization options, current news updates, and links to selected Web sites.

Dates of coverage: 1974 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies.

Dates of coverage: North America: 17th century - present; World: 1933 - present.
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.

Dates of coverage: Complete backfile to 1988, plus select content back to 1913
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Standards

A digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for journal articles, research and development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been "knovelized" to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including the original index. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Features tables of properties for commonly used chemical compounds in the physical properties tables. Tables in kCT include Basic Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds, Basic Physical Properties of Organic Compounds, Critical Properties and Acentric Factor, Enthalpy of Formation, Enthalpy of Vaporization, Entropy of Formation, Entropy of Gas, Gibbs Energy of Formation, Heat Capacity of Gas, Helmholtz Energy of Formation, Internal Energy of Formation, Basic Physical Properties of Common Solvents, and Safety Properties of Common Solvents.

Dates of coverage: 1917-1958
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

NACA, the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, operated from 1917-1958, when it became NASA. The NACATRS offers searching, browsing, and full-text of NACA reports covering NACA-sponsored aeronautical research and research on related topics such as meteorological and atmospheric conditions.

Dates of coverage: NASA info: 1958-present; Non-NASA info: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) provides students, educators, and the public with access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. Almost a million references are indexed as of August, 2005. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. For NASA reports that are not fully available from NTRS, please check the UNH Library Catalog or contact the Library's Government Documents Department for information.

Dates of coverage: variable
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical substances. Data provided are from collections maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. You may search by substance or property. Data that may be available for a substance include: thermochemistry and reaction thermochemistry, ion energetics; spectra: mass, UV, gas phase IR, vibrational and electronic; constants of diatomic molecules; Henry's Law data and thermophysical properties.

Dates of coverage: 1922 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Is the Optical Society of America's online library for OSA flagship journals and for partnered and co-published journals. It contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.

Includes access to papers presented at Topical Meetings but not Major Meetings. Major Meetings include CLEO (lasers), FiO (Frontiers in Optics; annual meeting), and OFC/NFOEC (fiber). Some CLEO and OFC/NFOEC papers may be available via IEEE Xplore

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. All users must sign up for an individual account.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Updated every two years by members of the international Particle Data Group (PDG), RPP is a full review of current knowledge in particle physics. It includes data as well as well as textual information. Sections are: Summary Tables and Conservation Laws, including best values of measured properties of well-established particles; Reviews, Tables, Plots: covering the Standard Model, QCD, statistics, collider parameters, particle detectors, and cosmology; and Particle Listings, including evaluated data and brief reviews of aspects of many given particles.

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 15
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides access to 1000's of technical books online. Content emphasizes computer programming, software and apps (including mobile apps) including business aspects. You can search the fulltext of all content by keyword, title, author and/or browse by category. Most Safari books may also be accessed via the UNH Library and BLC Worldcat catalogs (UNH copy only). Please log off after use, as access is limited to 15 concurrent users. If you log off and want to re-connect, use the Log In link to go to the Academic User log-in button. For extra content, such as a CD that was included in the print edition, check for an Extras tab on the book's entry page. Printing: individual pages only. Downloading: not available.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Comprising 901 tables concentrating on a broad scope of common physical and chemical data, the information provided is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

Creates literature lists of thermodynamic and transport properties of molecular organic compounds for chemical systems of three components or less. NIST searches are required by certain journals; also useful for proposals and active research. Select system type, search for simple molecules, select the property to get report draft that can be used to make PDF.

Dates of coverage: Published 2007
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics, dealing with all major parts of Solid-Earth Geophysics, including a volume on the terrestrial planets and moons in our solar system.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Theses & Dissertations

Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.