Stacks in Dimond Library on Levels 2, 4, and 5 are closed to the public as we reorganize. Books can be paged upon request. Learn more.

Music

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to music from America's past. Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Dates of coverage: 1900s to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Large multi-label database of classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 142,000+ tracks includes recordings of music written from Gregorian chant to many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Dates of coverage: Medieval to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Targeted to be the most comprehensive database of classical scores, representing the major composers output, spanning all genres and time periods from the Western classical canon.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music: Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Dates of coverage: 19th century to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains audio files of over 3700 CDs. DRAM includes 7500 compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States.

Dates of coverage: c. 1000 - 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers. Emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and show tunes with care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. It includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Includes over 6300 texts including 1135 aria texts.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to streaming jazz online; includes thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides access to streaming audio in the following Alexander Street Press Music Collections: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Every object in the collection is indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Provides nearly complete audio access to more than 92,210 CDs and over 1,100,000 tracks of primarily classical music, as well as some jazz and world/folk music Includes music notes, cover art, libretti from over 700 operas, and over 40,000 composer biographies.

Dates of coverage: 2010 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides an account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist Richard Taruskin, combining an emphasis on structure and form with discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, as well as describing how the context of each stylistic period influenced and directed compositional practices.

Dates of coverage: Classical antiquity - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Dictionaries

Offers access and cross-search of multiple music reference resources. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) is a continuously updated bibliography of music literature that includes records in over 214 languages from 12,000 journals.

Dates of coverage: 1600 -
Full text: None; abstracts only
Concurrent Users: 1
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An annotated index and guide to music manuscripts after 1600 (Series A/II) published by the RISM (Repertoire International des Sources Musicales). UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 1 concurrent user; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time, as for a course.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.