Materials Science

Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The World's first encyclopedia ever published in the field of nanotechnology. The 10-volume Encyclopedia is an unprecedented single reference source that provides ideal introduction and overview of most recent advances and emerging new aspects of nanotechnology spanning from science to engineering to medicine. It covers all aspects of nanoscale science and technology dealing with materials synthesis, processing, fabrication, probes, spectroscopy, physical properties, electronics, optics, mechanics, biotechnology, devices, etc.

Dates of coverage: 3rd Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science including polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. The resource is updated quarterly with new and substantially revised articles.

Dates of coverage: 1790-present (patents); ca. 1890-present (trademarks)
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) site covers patent history, filing, and classification, with a complete database of U.S, patents allowing full text searching of patents granted from 1976 to present; patents granted from 1790-1975 are searchable via classification. Patents can be viewed as images (TIF format). The USPTO site also offers links to some international patent databases. For trademarks, the USPTO site lets you search for active and inactive U.S. trademarks, with words or numerical descriptors, providing online images of the trademarks, dating back to the late 19th century.

Dates of coverage: 1790-present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office also partners with Google to allow powerful full text searching of all U.S. patents, with PDF images and is highly recommended for first-time users of the patent database.

Dates of coverage: 1771 (Beilstein) - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

For chemistry, nanoscience, and related fields. Reaxys is based on the combined content of CrossFire Beilstein and Gmelin, and the Patent Chemistry Database (PCD). Reaxys contains experimental reaction and substance data extracted from the major organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry literature, plus linked literature references. Allows researchers to identify and combine selected reaction steps to generate synthesis strategies. Substance searching includes (sub-)structure, generic and R-group searching, molecular formula, name, etc. Indexes multi-step reactions. Provides indexing and links to U.S. and European chemical and life science patents.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect is the platform for Elsevier publications.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.Editions included: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).