Literature

General

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources; many of the reviews are serious, academic works.

Dates of coverage: 1903 - 1982
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction, from nearly eight decades (1908-1982) of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest.

Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Comprehensive source for book reviews from trusted review publications.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Contains current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors. You can easily search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - 1984
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Online version of Gale’s Literature Criticism series, including: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Shakespearean Criticism.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

A full-text resource of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from the Anglo-Saxon period to the present. Contains more than 350 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Provides access to both primary and secondary sources.

Dates of coverage: Classical Antiquity to present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Includes all of Gale’s Contemporary Authors Online and selected content from the Gale sets Dictionary of Literary Biography and Literature Criticism Online, as well as other literature sources.

Dates of coverage: 1926 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The primary database for literature, MLA contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from more than 4,400 journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Handbooks

Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.

UNH's access is for the Oxford Handbooks Online Literature Collection 2014

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.Editions included: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

Specialized

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Provides a complete and systematic bibliographic online search tool for scholarship on Geoffrey Chaucer, providing annotations or content summaries for all entries.

Dates of coverage: Contemporary Authors
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Lists names, addresses, and publication credits for over 8,200 contemporary authors.

Dates of coverage: 1400
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Believed to be the earliest extant copy of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales and dates from soon after Chaucer's death in 1400.

Dates of coverage: late 19th century to present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access

Contains approximately 19,000 citations to plays in English- and foreign-language collections, anthologies, and periodicals published since the late 19th century. Separately published plays are not included. The collections, anthologies and periodicals can be searched in the UNH Library catalog to determine whether the Library has them.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and other sources worldwide. The multidisciplinary bibliography covers the historical years 300-1500.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present (varies with journal)
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas) contains the full-text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. The journals, which are indexed in HAPI Online - Hispanic American Periodicals Index, have articles in Spanish, English or Portuguese.

Dates of coverage: 1930s to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with online streaming video of more than 100 film documentaries, more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Users can select portions of videos and save them as playable clips.

Dates of coverage: 1400 - 1850
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Brown University Women Writers Project. It includes full transcriptions of more than 320 texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.