Law, Justice Studies & Criminology

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information

Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes indexing of publications such as the Congressional Record and hearings, bills and laws, legislative histories (for public laws from 1970+), regulations and political news. Also includes information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.

Dates of coverage: 1968 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Indexes over 400 journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world.

Dates of coverage: 1976 - present (coverage varies by title)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A subset of Sage Journals.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

An annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include articles from international and national newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reviews/journals. Also includes extensive legal guides by subject and EU legal sources.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime.

Dates of coverage: 1915 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, governmental and non-governmental organizations at all levels.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Westlaw Campus is an online legal resource for law-related areas such as criminal justice, social work, business and education. This research tool features legal encyclopedias, court decisions, law reviews and journals, statutes, and more.

To access Westlaw, you may need to adjust your security settings. Some common solutions are below.

  • Set Westlaw as a trusted site:
      1. Choose "Internet Options" from the Tools drop down menu on your browser toolbar.
      2. Click on the "Security" tab.
      3. Click on the "Trusted Sites" web content zone.
      4. Click on the "sites" button.
      5. If the box "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone" is checked, then type "https://*.westlaw.com" in "Add this web site to the zone" (If this box is not checked, type "westlaw.com" in "Add this web site to the zone")
  • Set your internet security setting to medium (Tools, Internet Options, Security)
  • Hold the "Shift" or "Ctrl" key when clicking to temporarily disable the pop-up blocker. (This control is generally located under Options).

Due to contractional agreements, Westlaw Campus users only have the option to print directly from Case Databases, American Law Reports (ALR), and American Jurisprudence.