History

General

Dates of coverage: 1887 (some PDF content) - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Dates of coverage: Varies [many from 1984; some from 1964] - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals and magazines. Over 7,400 journals are peer reviewed, with 3,900 full-text.

Dates of coverage: 1665 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles
Funded by: in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School

An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals in a wide range of disciplines. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year. Go to the Advanced Search page and limit by one or more disciplines to search only journals in those areas.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.Editions included: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

American/United States

Dates of coverage: 1690 - 1922
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service, President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

Comprehensive digital archive that includes titles from all 50 states. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Dates of coverage: 1964 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Index to over 1,900 sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations.

Dates of coverage: 1691 - 1820
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Presents over 500 titles. The content is available through EBSCO's Historical Digital Archive Viewer, which combines the experience of browsing and reading original sources with the convenience of keyword access, a variety of page views, note-taking capabilities, and numerous downloading options.

Dates of coverage: 1821 - 1837
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Presents over 1000 titles. The subject matter is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

Dates of coverage: 1600s to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. Allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Explains how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. This encyclopedia places major American conflicts -- from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism -- in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the homefront. Articles include biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations and monumental art, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1860-1865
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

A full-text, full-image collection of newspapers that includes eyewitness accounts and official reports of battles and events from the Civil War, advertisements, news articles and editorials.

Dates of coverage: early 19th century - late 20th century
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

Offers a single point of access to millions of freely available digitized items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, maps, and more—from America’s libraries, archives, and museums. In addition to a standard search engine, the portal provides searching and access by timeline, map, format, or topic.

Dates of coverage: 1700s - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

Provides links to primary sources of American history, including historic documents, digital collections from universities and archives, presidential papers, photograph collections and documents from all American conflicts from the French & Indian Wars to Desert Storm.

Dates of coverage: 1639-1800
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: College of Liberal Arts, the Center for the Humanities, the University of New Hampshire Library.

Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Dates of coverage: 1801-1819
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Primary Sources
Funded by: the College of Liberal Arts, the University of New Hampshire Library

With this series, research westward expansion, the development of American arts, the progression of American political thought and much more. In addition to books, broadsides and pamphlets, the collection includes published reports and the works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Additionally, a large number of state papers and early government materials chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation.

Dates of coverage: 1690-1922
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service,President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

Digital archive that includes over 1,000 titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Our subscription currently includes Series 1, 1690-1876, Series 2, 1758-1900, and Series 3, 1829-1922.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This resource provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States and includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Dates of coverage: 1861 - 1977/1980
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information, Primary Sources

Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The United States Department of State Office of the Historian offers online index searching for documents by keyword as well as limited full-text searching through the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Dates of coverage: Varies by data series
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource contains a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources that include over 37,000 data series -- three times more than in the previous edition -- and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The resource will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Note: To use the custom tables, users must register for an account. To register, click on the register link in the upper right corner of the page and complete the form.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - 1980s
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them.

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

Dates of coverage: 1817-1994, 15th-103rd Congress (In Production - Later Content Not Yet Available)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service, President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

A comprehensive digital edition of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, containing reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. This resource enables researchers to explore U.S. history and culture in unprecedented depth and detail.

World

Dates of coverage: 1990+
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals.

Dates of coverage: UNH's access is for all volumes added through 2012
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides coverage across the humanities with a concentration on political and cultural history. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The subject categories containing the most volumes are regional history, general history (with its chronological series) and literary studies, but there are also several series on the history of religion, philosophy and economic history.

Dates of coverage: 1718 - 1876
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Featuring more than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Useful for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.

Dates of coverage: Varies (Ancient History - Present )
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Provides links to myriad primary sources of world history, searchable geographically, topically and chronologically. Also includes links to "landmark historic documents" as diverse as the Code of Hammurabi, the Magna Carta, the Manifesto of the Communist Party, and the Koran.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed.
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives.

Dates of coverage: prehistoric times - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Dates of coverage: 1940 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Updated weekly.

Dates of coverage: 1954 - present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 6
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Index to sources on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life with Full Text), from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages. The full text version provides full-text coverage to more than 350 journals and 130 books. In addition, it includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Links provided to full text content provided by JSTOR, Project Muse, and the History Cooperative.

UNH's license limits access to a maximum of 6 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time.

Dates of coverage: 1906 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and other sources worldwide. The multidisciplinary bibliography covers the historical years 300-1500.

Dates of coverage: Entire History of Seafaring
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia covers the entire history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Over nine hundred articles written by leading historians examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, biographies of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law. Placing maritime affairs in their larger historical context, the Encyclopedia shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history.

Dates of coverage: 2010 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. The full text, which was originally printed in five volumes, is available in this online version and includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the 2010 edition with full search and browse functionality.

Classical

Dates of coverage: second millennium BC to early medieval
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A reference work for the ancient world. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Enriches the information from the encyclopedia with its exhaustive lists of names, dates and facts about the people who shaped the ancient world. Volume 1 : Chronologies of the Ancient World - Names, Dates and Dynasties; Volume 2 : Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts; Volume 3 : Historical Atlas of the Ancient World; Volume 4 : The Reception of Myth and Mythology.

Dates of coverage: second millennium BC to early medieval
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A reference work for the ancient world. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of Der Neue Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Genealogy

Dates of coverage: 1680 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Genealogical research database providing information on more than 1 billion names and 3000 databases. Includes selected census records, birth, marriage and death, military, probate, and immigration and naturalization records as well as some genealogical newspapers and periodicals. Also included are guides to starting genealogical research and compiling a family history.