Health & Medicine

Medicine/Nursing

Access: Trial
Type: Articles

Provides clinicians and students quick information and targeted, evidence-based medical content on diseases, conditions, drugs, and more at the point-of-care.

Dates of coverage: 1937-present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 12
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Dissertations & Theses

The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 5000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

12 concurrent users; for course or database instructional use please call 1-800-758-5995 and unlimited access will be granted for a limited time.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Includes details of published articles taken from bibliographic databases (notably MEDLINE and EMBASE), and other published and unpublished sources. Records include the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details) and, in many cases, a summary of the article.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Cochrane Controlled Trials Register includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies that could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines; also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, covering generic drug patient education sheets with thousands of brand names.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that publishes biological, medical, chemical and physical research methods in video format. To help communicate complex laboratory techniques, JoVE Biology provides step-by-step protocols accompanied by videos that help in visualizing the procedures, often with commentary from the researchers.

Currently, UNH provides access to the Biology and Neuroscience sections only.

Dates of coverage: 1949 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences; e-books are included in the collections.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides full-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences, including those in PubMed.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes more than 9,500 clinical topics across 20 specialties, including more than 8,500 graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.

Psychiatry/Psychology

Dates of coverage: 5th ed., 2013
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

A classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. PDFs of earlier DSM editions are available.

Dates of coverage: Published 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Covers topics such as the neurochemistry and neurobiology of learning at the cellular and synaptic levels, systems neurobiology, the study of animal capabilities such as homing, ethological and behavioristic analyses, mechanisms, psychology, and disorders of learning and memory in humans.

Dates of coverage: 1887 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Dissertations & Theses

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

An online mental health education and training film library of mental health simulations providing viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. The films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decreases the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

General

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

A source for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

Dates of coverage: 1946 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

Dates of coverage: 1973 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Focuses on articles, books, and gray literature including agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology, and plant sciences.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A physician-focused resource that provides answers to clinical questions.

Access: Trial
Type: Articles

Is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool for health care professionals.

Dates of coverage: 1947 - present
Access: Trial
Type: Articles

Provides access to international biomedical literature including drug, medical device, and disease related information.

Concurrent Users: 5
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Is a series of systematic reviews and evidence-based nutrition practice guidelines on topics of various disease conditions and other nutrition-related topics.

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 10
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

Dates of coverage: 1960 - 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Social Sciences and Health

Offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1864 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

Encyclopedias

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed., 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This edition captures advances occurring in the etiology, prevention, and treatment of cancer, from basic science to clinical application. Entries cover a variety of aspects of cancer such as oncology, immunology, epidemiology, gene therapy, oncogenes/tumor suppressor genes, and pharmacology.

Dates of coverage: 2nd ed., 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Alphabetical entries with bibliographies cover the scientific, political, and social aspects of nutrition including individual nutrients and foods, anatomy and physiology, nutritional therapy for diseases and conditions, nutrition education, religious customs, and folklore. Charts of weights and measures, nutritional allowances, and nutritional content of foods appear as appendices in each volume.

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.