General Science

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Social Sciences and Health, Natural Sciences

Compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases.Determines the influential individuals, institutions, papers, publications, and countries in their field of study as well as emerging research areas that could impact their work.

Articles

Dates of coverage: 1887 (some PDF content) - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study.

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Multidisciplinary database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects.

Dates of coverage: 1665 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles
Funded by: in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School

A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals in scientific and medical literature.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users, Trial
Type: Articles

Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Provides full MEDLINE coverage and features interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 3
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies.

Mac Users - Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Dictionaries, Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Elsevier's Major Reference Works on SciVerse ScienceDirect are the most accessible, authoritative source for building foundation knowledge in one's area of expertise and gaining cross-disciplinary, comparative perspective in related or new areas.