General & Multidisciplinary

Dates of coverage: Varies [many from 1984; some from 1964] - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals and magazines. Over 7,400 journals are peer reviewed, with 3,900 full-text.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

Dates of coverage: 1969-1991
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the Alternative Press Index, was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. With over 474,000 records, the APIA is an invaluable companion to the Alternative Press Index, which is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Index and abstracts of articles from over 550 periodicals, both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology. Subject scope includes aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

Dates of coverage: 1965 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A comprehensive source for book reviews that electronically indexes reviews, making them easily accessible from an intuitive interface. Researchers can search through the most trusted review publications using multiple search options and see results presented quickly and accurately.

Dates of coverage: Current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Vault has been called "The best place on the Web to prepare for a job search." Vault is a great resource for insider company information, advice, and career management services. The site contains more than 80 career guides and employer profiles, continually updated "insider" information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries including employee surveys on thousands of top employers, a collection of company-specific message boards for employees, and an extensive free job board with thousands of top job openings.

Users must create a login to access this resource.

Dates of coverage: 1987 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

Dates of coverage: 1789 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information

Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes indexing of publications such as the Congressional Record and hearings, bills and laws, legislative histories (for public laws from 1970+), regulations and political news. Also includes information about members of Congress and Congressional committees.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available, on topics such as Gas prices and U.S. treatment of prisoners in Iraq.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 10
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press.

There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, E-Books, Encyclopedias

Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, E-Books

Contains over 7000 books covering a wide range of topics.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic Edition combines the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.

Dates of coverage: varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and includes current and archival content.

Dates of coverage: 1940 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Updated weekly.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, E-Books

A world leader in e-research and educational publishing for libraries, schools and businesses. Best known for its accurate and authoritative reference content as well as its intelligent organization of full-text magazine and newspaper articles, the company creates and maintains more than 600 databases that are published online, in print, as eBooks and in microform.

Dates of coverage: 1935 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1907-1984
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides citations to articles covering a wide-range of humanities and interdisciplinary fields. The sources include core, scholarly English-language periodicals as well as a number of lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Among the subjects covered are: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary and Social Criticism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.

Dates of coverage: Published 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

First attempt since 1968 to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Comprises 4,000 articles and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Dates of coverage: 1665 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles
Funded by: in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School

An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals in a wide range of disciplines. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year. Go to the Advanced Search page and limit by one or more disciplines to search only journals in those areas.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented.

Dates of coverage: 2005 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

Access to full-text of official New Hampshire electronic-only publications from all state executive agencies such as Agriculture, Transportation and Office of the Governor as well as some legislative and judicial agencies. This database is updated monthly.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Dates of coverage: 1920 -
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

An archive of global, non-partisan public policy research from think tanks, universities, government organizations and foundations. Subjects include government, international relations, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights and much more. Created by the Center for Governmental Studies.

Dates of coverage: 1986 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).

Dates of coverage: 1890-1982
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. All users must sign up for an individual account.

Dates of coverage: 1999 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections

Provides access to 485+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences. Searches may be limited to subsets of journals under each discipline by selecting Browse, then Journals by discipline.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: Present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A comprehensive worldwide bibliographic database with information on over 250,000 serials publications: active titles, suspended titles, ceased titles (from 1974), and forthcoming titles. Users can pinpoint specific journals or conduct broad based subject or publisher surveys.

Dates of coverage: 1911 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Newspapers

The UNH Publication Index includes citations to articles in University of New Hampshire newspapers and periodicals. Citations list article keywords, topic of article, title of article, date of publication, and serial title.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present, with older documents being added
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

Includes official UN documents exclusive of sales publications, press releases, treaties, and Department of Public Information brochures. Also includes resolutions from various UN bodies from 1947- present. Searching is available in the official UN languages of Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

Dates of coverage: 1817-1994, 15th-103rd Congress (In Production - Later Content Not Yet Available)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Government Information
Funded by: PhD Enhancement Fund of the Vice President for Research and Public Service, President's Fund for Excellence, Graduate School, William L. Dunfey Endowment for the Study of History, Stuart Palmer Book Fund

A comprehensive digital edition of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, containing reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. This resource enables researchers to explore U.S. history and culture in unprecedented depth and detail.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Accesses ISI citation databases covering thousands of scholarly journals from all subject areas. Especially useful is the Cited Reference Search, which finds newer articles citing to older, known items. For a more precise search, limit to the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, or the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Dates of coverage: 1972 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented including Women Studies Abstracts.