Film, Television & Theater

Dates of coverage: 1988 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

Dates of coverage: first silent movies - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.

Dates of coverage: 1976-2001
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - 1980s
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them.

Click on the view publications link to see all 10 volumes.

Dates of coverage: 1930s to present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with online streaming video of more than 100 film documentaries, more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Users can select portions of videos and save them as playable clips.