Environmental Studies & Natural Resources

Dates of coverage: Varies [many from 1984; some from 1964] - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals and magazines. Over 7,400 journals are peer reviewed, with 3,900 full-text.

Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides access to abstracts covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries.

Dates of coverage: 1998 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance and Allen Press.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Dates of coverage: 1973-present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 4
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Extensive international database focusing on articles, books, and gray literature covering a wide range of subject areas including agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology, and plant sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Guide to the thousands of environmental non-profit, education, commercial, and government groups operating across the planet.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

Dates of coverage: Published 2004
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, and covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry, relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A key reference work for professionals in academia, industry and government, as well as students at all levels. This resource includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.

Dates of coverage: 2005 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides complete information on chemistry, analysis, and evaluation of soils and geography and focuses on agriculture development in the third world, particularly through research on sustainable management of natural resources, soil productivity and environmental quality. Offers tools to restore and reinvigorate highly compromised soil! Includes detailed contributions from more than 400 esteemed international authorities across nearly 400 entries, plus over 1,000 illustrations

Dates of coverage: 2007 to present
Access: Restricted to UNH users

The leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's four daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy.

Dates of coverage: 1974 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Government Information, Technical Reports

Includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and much, much more. The collection includes over 3,109,800 bibliographic records and over 104,000 full text documents. Additional records may also have links to help users find the full text. ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and includes current and archival content.

Dates of coverage: North America: 17th century - present; World: 1933 - present.
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

A collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials from high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas, including publications of major professional societies such as the Geological Society of America, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Mineralogical Society of America, and Geological Society of London.

Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Dates of coverage: 2001 to 1 year ago
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

Provides easy access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. JCR includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. The JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.

Dates of coverage: 1665 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles
Funded by: in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School

An archival collection of full-image, full-run academic journals in a wide range of disciplines. The coverage of each journal begins with the first issue and continues to JSTOR's "Moving Wall", which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years prior to the current year. Go to the Advanced Search page and limit by one or more disciplines to search only journals in those areas.

Dates of coverage: 1851-2009 (Index 1851-1993)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Searchable digital reproductions of every page of every issue including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, and advertisements. For printing instructions, click here.

Dates of coverage: 1981 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is totally comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Dates of coverage: 1915 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, governmental and non-governmental organizations at all levels.

Dates of coverage: 1920 -
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

An archive of global, non-partisan public policy research from think tanks, universities, government organizations and foundations. Subjects include government, international relations, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights and much more. Created by the Center for Governmental Studies.

Dates of coverage: Varies by database
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Formerly Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Internet Database Service.ProQuest, the company, is a world leader in serving the information needs of millions of researchers of all ages, of all abilities, in libraries and institutions around the world. ProQuest, the product, is the database search application we designed to pursue our mission to connect people and information, and realize our vision to be central to research around the world.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. All users must sign up for an individual account.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Government Information, Technical Reports

Provides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect is the platform for Elsevier publications.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Includes journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.Editions included: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

Dates of coverage: 1935 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

This database indexes articles from six international databases that cover wildlife and wildlife management. Updated monthly, Wildlife Worldwide indexing uses scientific names of reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. The database is the best source for governmental publications, especially state publications, concerning wildlife issues.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Theses & Dissertations

Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.