Engineering

Dates of coverage: 1947 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Full text of all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. Includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles along with selected works published by affiliated organizations.

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources including serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.

Dates of coverage: 1990 to present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides full text access to journals published by the ASME (founded as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers).

Dates of coverage: Active Standards
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Standards

A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. The UNH Library also has the full set of ASTM standards in print from 2010-2012.

The print ASTM standards in the UNH Library are available at the Engineering, Math & Computer Science Library in Kingsbury Hall. See the UNH Library Catalog for call number and availability (title: Annual Book of ASTM Standards).

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Access to research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Access to articles on chemoreception research and applications including basic and applied research, standardization and legislation, methods and instrumentation, patents, and marketing.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed., 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering. This edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Web search interface for engineering information, including searches of Ei Compendex; engineering handbooks (not linked to data; use citation to look up reference at Library); the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web site; and TechStreet standards (not linked to full-text). Offers specialized options, including saved queries and biweekly e-mail alerts for Ei Compendex.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

Provides access to on-going and completed science activities and scientific and technical products, conducted by EPA and by universities and other research institutions through EPA-funded assistance agreements. For a broader search on EPA documents, please see our database entry for the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP).

Dates of coverage: 1974 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies.

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for journal articles, research and development reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been "knovelized" to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including the original index. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Features tables of properties for commonly used chemical compounds in the physical properties tables. Tables in kCT include Basic Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds, Basic Physical Properties of Organic Compounds, Critical Properties and Acentric Factor, Enthalpy of Formation, Enthalpy of Vaporization, Entropy of Formation, Entropy of Gas, Gibbs Energy of Formation, Heat Capacity of Gas, Helmholtz Energy of Formation, Internal Energy of Formation, Basic Physical Properties of Common Solvents, and Safety Properties of Common Solvents.

Dates of coverage: 1917-1958
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

NACA, the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, operated from 1917-1958, when it became NASA. The NACATRS offers searching, browsing, and full-text of NACA reports covering NACA-sponsored aeronautical research and research on related topics such as meteorological and atmospheric conditions.

Dates of coverage: NASA info: 1958-present; Non-NASA info: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) provides students, educators, and the public with access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. Almost a million references are indexed as of August, 2005. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. For NASA reports that are not fully available from NTRS, please check the UNH Library Catalog or contact the Library's Government Documents Department for information.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Technical Reports

NSCEP is the site for a wide variety of free EPA print and digital documents, including everything from pamphlets to research reports. For a narrower search of EPA-supported research, go to our database entry for the EPA Science Inventory.

Dates of coverage: 1922 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Is the Optical Society of America's online library for OSA flagship journals and for partnered and co-published journals. It contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.

Includes access to papers presented at Topical Meetings but not Major Meetings. Major Meetings include CLEO (lasers), FiO (Frontiers in Optics; annual meeting), and OFC/NFOEC (fiber). Some CLEO and OFC/NFOEC papers may be available via IEEE Xplore

Dates of coverage: 1790-present (patents); ca. 1890-present (trademarks)
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) site covers patent history, filing, and classification, with a complete database of U.S, patents allowing full text searching of patents granted from 1976 to present; patents granted from 1790-1975 are searchable via classification. Patents can be viewed as images (TIF format). The USPTO site also offers links to some international patent databases. For trademarks, the USPTO site lets you search for active and inactive U.S. trademarks, with words or numerical descriptors, providing online images of the trademarks, dating back to the late 19th century.

Dates of coverage: 1790-present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office also partners with Google to allow powerful full text searching of all U.S. patents, with PDF images and is highly recommended for first-time users of the patent database.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users

An online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. All users must sign up for an individual account.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - current
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 15
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Collections, Ebooks

Provides access to 1000's of technical books online. Content emphasizes computer programming, software and apps (including mobile apps) including business aspects. You can search the fulltext of all content by keyword, title, author and/or browse by category. Most Safari books may also be accessed via the UNH Library and BLC Worldcat catalogs (UNH copy only). Please log off after use, as access is limited to 15 concurrent users. If you log off and want to re-connect, use the Log In link to go to the Academic User log-in button. For extra content, such as a CD that was included in the print edition, check for an Extras tab on the book's entry page. Printing: individual pages only. Downloading: not available.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

This database includes approx. 70,000 full-text papers from SPIE Journals and Proceedings starting with SPIE Volume 1200. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

Creates literature lists of thermodynamic and transport properties of molecular organic compounds for chemical systems of three components or less. NIST searches are required by certain journals; also useful for proposals and active research. Select system type, search for simple molecules, select the property to get report draft that can be used to make PDF.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

TRID, the world's largest transportation research database, includes nearly one million records, including references for journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings and more. Comprehensively covers the research literature on all transport modes, with aspects including planning, finance, design/construction, materials, environmental issues, safety, human factors, operations. Not included: vehicle standards/specs, patents, military transport. TRID is produced by Transportation Research Board (U.S.) and is made up of the former TRIS database from TRB plus the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database (from OECD partner countries).

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

TRIS is a U.S. Transportation Research Board (TRB) website featuring links to TRB databases and publications, as well as TRID, the comprehensive transportation research database formed by integrating the former TRIS database with the International Transport Research Documentation Database (see above). Please note: UNH currently subscribes to most TRB publications in print (search Library Catalog by publication title; ex. Transportation Research Record).

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides access to technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Theses & Dissertations

Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.